Reinstall Washer Shipping Bolts Before Moving

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-04-08, 08:00 PM
slumlordfrank's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Where time and space begin
Posts: 702
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Reinstall Washer Shipping Bolts Before Moving

A couple of things you ought to know and they might not explain them carefully to you.

If you ever move to a new house you (or someone) will need to REINSTALL the shipping bolts. SO MAKE SURE THEY LEAVE THEM, and that you see where/how they go.

I wasn't home when ours was delivered 3 years ago. It might not have mattered, I assumed we'd be "forever", or at least long enough that we wouldn't move an "old" washer. But, life changes and we're moving and taking it with. The 30 year old dryer is staying!

Sure enough, no bolts, wife doesn't remember anything being said and nothing left. I checked the mfgr's website and the "kit) (5 bolts is $23 + shipping.

I had to pull it out from the wall and lean over to measure the size. Fortunately I spent 20 years in the nut and bolt business and know my metrics pretty well. Cost at my local hardware, $2.75.

BTW, when the moving co. rep was here I asked him about it. He said that it has to be ready to go, bolts installed, when they get here and they check a week in advance if he writes that you have a front-loader. They have a "service", probably a 3rd party that comes out and makes appliances ready to ship. $78. plus mileage in our case as we're 50 miles from a decent sized city.

Glad I got the stuff today. But don't end up with an extra $100 on your next move.

frank
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-05-08, 06:03 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Good idea!! I had the opposite happen once. An owner of a quad where UGA students lived called me to have an over/under washer dryer removed and disposed of so Sears could install a new one, thinking they would save a few bucks. The problem with the old washer was it vibrated too much in the spin cycle. I took it out and leaned it over onto my truck to discover the shipping bolts were still in the unit! Sears had already installed the new one, and the owner said they didn't want the old one no matter what, sooooo, good day for a little profit! Sold it before I got home. I have two Maytag front loads, one in our house and one in our cabin, and I shall make sure I locate those bolts, now that you mention it. Thanks.
 
  #3  
Old 04-05-08, 06:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 929
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is true for ANY washer. Even a conventional top load washer tilted to an angle exceeding design limits will cause the tub to fall off it's rocker, so to speak.
 
  #4  
Old 04-05-08, 11:14 AM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The problem with the old washer was it vibrated too much in the spin cycle.
It took them how long to figure out it wasnt working right?

Jeesh.......The delivery guys would be chained to the wall if my brand new washer acted like that....Nobody noticed something WRONG??? The Vibration from uninstalled Shipper bolts is nothing less than Horrific at best, and usually damages the death out of the floor boards below it.

But hey, a few extra bucks in your pocket , for minimal labor is always a good thing
 
  #5  
Old 04-05-08, 04:49 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
These are 1st semester college kids with beer for brains. They haven't been this far from mother in their lives and have never washed clothes, so they thought it was normal until someone downstairs complained to the landlord. Guess sheetrock started to crack.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: