Central Vacuum has weak sucking flow?

Old 04-20-08, 08:19 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Central Vacuum has weak sucking flow?

Have Filtex central vacuum with two ports. It has lost about 85% of its capability. I have cleaned out the hose and the two ports along with the piping into the unit in the basement (using a foam ball) and lots of lint and animal hair was retrieved, and installed a fresh/new throw-away bag. I replaced the permanent filter bag and the last filter just above the inlet to motor on the base of the unit.
After cleaning it, the gain was about 10%, it still doesn't suck nearly enough to make any of the floor attachments work. Any suggestions?

Sponsored Links
Old 04-20-08, 08:39 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
I have no experience with central vacs but have always been able to fix anything I touch, based on so many other diagnostics/ repairs in my life.

I HAVE had vacuums apart and worked on them.

I would split your diagnostics into 2 seperate things: 1. Is the piping clear? 2. Does the vacuum motor itself work?

If #2., could be bad motor armature, poor brushes, or missing pieces from the suction fan vanes if it has that, as a few possibilities. Could perhaps do an amp test and compare to company spec.

Old 04-20-08, 08:45 AM
Thanks for getting back!
The dual motors both work fine. I haven't been as far as the impeller section yet. Everything is free and clear to the unit case.
I will take the next layer of metal/plastic off to see if I can get to the impeller section. It looks sealed.

Old 04-20-08, 08:47 AM
I have had to replace impellers on my old Electrolux. They are real thin and flimsy. Keep us updated.

Old 04-20-08, 10:40 AM
And is there a secondary filter that you never knew about?

Old 04-20-08, 12:06 PM
I've removed all of the bags, and am down near the motors. Not too sure just how the next section comes out. I removed several long screws, the center filter and nothing moves.