Samsung front load washer WF306LAW/XAA


  #1  
Old 05-20-08, 10:21 AM
Stevetra's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Asheboro, NC
Posts: 348
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Samsung front load washer WF306LAW/XAA

I have a Samsung front load washer WF306LAW/XAA.
Lately it has started erroring during the cycle with SUDS displayed on the led readout. I switched to HD detergent per the owners manual, and it ran fine until 2 days ago.

2 days ago it played a new tune in the middle of the cycle and displayed a error code that looked like 2 capital "E 's" with the top line of the first "E" missing. My manual says there is a temperature sensor error, and it will no longer reset.
Well the unit is 2 years old, and Samsung says its out of warranty, BUT there is a recal on other models made at the same time because of water getting on a circuit board via the temp sensor and causing fires. Samsung says my unit is not part of the recall.
I have called around for service, but most want $95 just to come out. I have looked online for a temp sensor, but no part with that name exists for my modlel front load washer.
Has anyone run into a similar situation?
Does anyone have any advise for my next step?

I payed over $1000 for this machine, and its only 2 years old...I would think I could have gotten more life out of it before it died on me like this.
I am not afraid to open it up myself, but it would help to know what I am looking for before I start unbuttoning it, anyone have any suggestions?
 
  #2  
Old 05-20-08, 05:01 PM
Stevetra's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Asheboro, NC
Posts: 348
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Anyone?
I ordered a service call for Friday...sigh...
 
  #3  
Old 05-22-08, 05:03 AM
Stevetra's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Asheboro, NC
Posts: 348
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Update !

Well I finally bit the bullet and blindly started taking the washer apart.
Here is what I found:
First, 2 wires (orange and white) running to some type of sensor at the bottom of the drum were cut completely in half. It looked like the strap that held them in place had worn completely through the wires.
Second, the wire bundle that comes down the front right side of the cabinet that feeds the door lock and door open switch were also worn and bare.
What was the biggest surprise to me was the way that Samsung had treated the wires during manufacture. The wires were not in raceways or wire loom, but wrapped in yellow and red electrical tape. In areas where they were clamped, the clamps were not sized correctly and the assembler just wrapped enough tape around the wires to get the clamps to hold.
I can see clearly why they would have had to recall their units because of the possibility of fire. The treatment of the wire inside the cabinet is cheap and shotty. Wires are not protected in pinch points and eclectic tape is used instead of wire loom to protect it from chafing.
I took pictures of each repair I made, where I spliced the broken wires, and the wire loom used to protect the wiring. The repairs took me a total of 3 hours, at least 1.5 hours of that was figuring out how to get the cabinet apart, and repairs were made more difficult because I did not attempt to remove the boot that goes between the door seal and the drum.
The washer runs like new now, I let it cycle through 1 complete full load before I went to bed, and it had no issues.
 
  #4  
Old 05-22-08, 05:54 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Can you post the pictures. I have only seen a few of those machines in field and have not run into that problem yet. Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 05-22-08, 06:12 AM
Stevetra's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Asheboro, NC
Posts: 348
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sure will, I am at work right now, but I will add pictures this evening when I get home.
 
  #6  
Old 05-22-08, 02:40 PM
Stevetra's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Asheboro, NC
Posts: 348
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pictures

Unfortunatly I only took pictures of the repair to the machine, and didnt get any of the machine construction itself.
Here is what I found when I took off the bottom access panel


And the repair:



Here is the Door latch harness:


I wrapped the bare wire in electrical tape, then wrapped the harness in electrical tape



Then I placed the harness in a protective loom, and wrapped the loom in tape before I re-installed the latch assembly.
 
  #7  
Old 05-22-08, 03:22 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Thanks for the pictures Something else to look for out there. Most of my customer who have these machine have been happy with them but only have limited experance with them
 
  #8  
Old 11-27-08, 06:27 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MD
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up I have the same model washer and the same problem

I greatly appreciate your detailed description and soluton to the problem.

My washer is less than two years old and I had the suds error message before but the machine worked for awhile thereafter until today when the LE (the L actually almost looked like an E without the top line) error message.

I checked my manual and it said that it was a temperature sensor problem. It instructed you to restart the cycle which I did about five times but the washer would not start it just continued wih the the error message.

So I went online to find out if it could I could find an instuctional repair menue but no luck. I searchd via model number which only informed me of the recall of similar models but no luck on fixes.

Then I finally put in the key term "temperature sensor problem and found this forum. I did find out through my searches that the manufacturer takes forever to get repair service out and mine is past its warranty as I did not purchase any extended warranty and this may not be covered anyways.

However, I did turn the washer sideways to access the opening from the bottm and found the wires were disconnected and ripped in half. It was in front bottom of the drum where the sensor is located and after fixing the wires placed tape on the wires the entire lenghts to make sure that any vibration will not tear them apart again.

I wanted to thank you as you saved me a bundle of money in repairs.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: