Dishwasher Not Draining

Old 06-15-08, 05:03 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dishwasher Not Draining

I HAVE A FRIGIDAIRE DISHWASHER. IT HAS BEEN DRAINING FINE UNTIL YESTERDAY. I NOTICED WATER AT THE BOTTOM.I TOOK DRAIN HOSE OFF TO SEE IF IT WAS DRAINING WHILE IN CYCLE,BUT NO WATER CAME OUT. THE HOSE IS NOT CLOGGED UP. DO I NEED A NEW MOTOR? I HAVE NO AIR GAP NOR A GARBAGE DISPOSAL. I'VE BEEN USING IT FOR 4 YEARS WITHOUT A PROBLEM.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-17-08, 11:49 PM
S
Take off dishwasher kick panel and remove drainhose at pump body. Have towel ready and be prepared for a flood. Blow thru drain hose see if clear, put screw driver in pump body see if clear. if all clear you need to investigate further. If unit has a drain solenoid see if that's engaging. Remove bottom spray arm and filter assymbly see if drain impellar is intact has fins still is not stripped on the shaft etc.

Old 06-29-08, 07:35 PM
T
Frigidaire Dishwasher Won't Drain II

I too have a Frigidaire dishwasher that has stopped draining (Gallery Ultra Quiet III Model FDP635RFR2). For several months we have used Arm 'N Hammer Super Washing Soda (sodium carbonate -- NOT sodium bi-carbonate) to clean the system every other week or so (especially when draining was slow). However today, this treatment is not working. I suspect that either the Drain Pump itself is clogged OR the Drain Pump motor is dead/moribund (it makes a pathetic sound and struggles to pump a little water into the drain --- but it cannot empty the sump).

The model we have is a "portable" version -- it is in a roll-around carcass --- but is presently hooked up directly to the water supply and drain (i.e., we are not using it in the portable mode). The carcass does NOT have an access panel in the front, nor any access from behind. The top does not come off. I believe I have to extract the machine from the carcass to access the drain pump (etc).