GE Dishwasher - GSD5610 Profile Performance stops before complete


  #1  
Old 07-25-08, 09:26 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy GE Dishwasher - GSD5610 Profile Performance stops before complete

Model: GSD5610 Profile Performance - Quiet Power III
5 years old

This dishwasher after roughly 10 minutes will simply stop functioning, after starting any type of wash cycle, Normal, Pots, etc..

Once stopped there is always water left in the bottom, but upon resetting the dishwasher, it drains with no problem. Restarting with the same wash settings will work roughly 1/3 of the time. I end up starting the same load 2-3 times, but it will eventually run right through.

I have replaced the piston & nut(which was in bad need of replacement), but need to know if this is a timer issue or is it likely something else?
 
  #2  
Old 07-25-08, 04:34 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
How are you resetting it?

Is this a digital control unit?
 
  #3  
Old 07-26-08, 08:25 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yes, it is digital. Resetting is done by hitting 'start' twice.
 
  #4  
Old 07-26-08, 09:10 AM
N
Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have the same problem. I have GE Quiet power II and a similar thing is happening. I had water stored at the bottom and it would only drain when i restarted the cycle. I cleaned the filter out at the bottom, and that help drain the water significantly. There are many problems with this dishwasher and i have decided to buy a new one.
 
  #5  
Old 07-26-08, 11:32 AM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
To be honest, I am not up on the digitrtal control units. Unfortunately, with such units, you can have mechanical issues, but then also or instead simply have a control board that is whacked.

And I am not about to suggest to people just to go off and get another board, and be wrong about that. Almost too much technology today. Overwhelming for DIY'ers, and probably pros also. I don't think too many people out there know how to diagnose boards. The best you can hope for is if you can access one and see the parts, and then discover on it some burn mark by some diode or loose solder, and you are handy, and can get another diode and resolder stuff.

Someone else here will have to help you if they can.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: