LG electric dryer in closet: clearance, ventilation questions

Old 07-29-08, 09:36 AM
B
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
LG electric dryer in closet: clearance, ventilation questions

I'm moving into a new house with a closet for the washer and dryer. I've never done this before so I would really appreciate some advice about dryer installation (I think I have the washer figured out). We're looking at LG electric dryer models DLE5955 or DLEX7177 (units are 30" deep).

The closet is 36.5" deep (from back wall to inside of closed doors, it's a little less at floor level due to baseboard) and the door opening is 63" wide so that's no problem for side-by-side washer/dryer. The closet has two solid (meaning not louvered, not that they are solid wood) doors. The closet was designed for laundry so it has all required electrical/plumbing. The dryer vent connection is a vertical duct in a box recessed in the back wall.

Two questions:

1. Are the solid closet doors ok?

2. Will these dryers work with the 36.5" closet depth?

Details:

1. The dryer installation instructions specify a closet door with ventilation, but my builder says this is only required for gas dryers. Can I run the dryer with the closet doors closed or will it get too hot?

2. The instructions for all the LG dryers I've seen (for example: http://us.lge.com/download/product/f...dlg5966g_e.pdf page 10) show a side view of a dryer installation without a closet door, showing the 30" dryer depth, 4" clearance behind the dryer, and a mysterious 4" measurement in front of the dryer (but there is no closet door or other obstruction in front of the dryer in the drawing). The text says 5.5" is typically required behind the dryer for the vent connection, and that 1" is recommended on the sides and back; 1" in back doesn't make much sense. Do they mean 1" on sides and front, and the 4" in front in the drawing is meaningless, or does the drawing mean I need 4" of clearance in front of the dryer?

Old 07-29-08, 11:44 AM