Can I Use New GE Compressor Kit To Replace Bad In SubZero


  #1  
Old 09-10-08, 08:19 PM
gjrfixit's Avatar
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: northeast new jersey
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Can I Use New GE Compressor Kit To Replace Bad In SubZero

I have a sub zero 550 the refer compressor burnt out. Before i tell service to order new one, i found a brand new GE comp replacement kit my son saved when he fixed appliances. The part is wr87x10095 it looks same size and shape as the sub zero one. can i use it as universal replacement and/or what specs do i need to to compare to see if it will work properly as a replacement? THANKS IN ADVANCE. GJ
 
  #2  
Old 09-11-08, 06:11 PM
H
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 208
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You need to check the btu rating of your found compressor, and if it is a R12 or R13a "freon" type of compressor. I am not sure if the refrigerator compressor is a low or medium back compressor, but I bet someone else knows. It might work if it is close in btu, but it has to be the same "freon" type.

Himeros
 
  #3  
Old 09-11-08, 07:16 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,234
Received 65 Votes on 60 Posts
The replcement compressor would need to use the same refrigerant as said but it also has to be of the same cooling capacity.

A problem I can see though is that because you will have to pay someone to install this for you the costs would be quite high if the old one failed.
The warranty on the new one would make used parts not such a great bargain.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: