Water and ice filter on Frigidaire refrigerator


  #1  
Old 09-27-08, 10:17 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Water and ice filter on Frigidaire refrigerator

I am currently using an RO system to filter my drinking water going to my Frigidaire side by side (model #FRS6HR4HW1) as well as to another tap in the kitchen. Is there a way to bypass the filter in the refrigerator? I really don't see a need for it if I am filtering it otherwise and don't to replace it if I don't need to. The filter is specified as as model #WF1CB.
 
  #2  
Old 09-27-08, 10:30 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,112
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Most have a bypass plug that can replace the filter. Do you still have the manual?
Well, looking at the manual online doesn't mention any sort of bypass plug. May need to see your local appliance parts store.

The filters may have an internal bypass if they get clogged, though that shouldn't be an issue with your RO system. I don't think it would hurt to just leave the filter in there forever.

Maybe one of the appliance guys will check in later.
 
  #3  
Old 09-27-08, 02:27 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have had the same filter in there for well over a year and am now noticing reduced water flow and smaller ice cubes. I also know that I need to change the filter on my RO. thanks for your insight any more help is greatly appreciated. And I have not been able to find any plugs either.
 
  #4  
Old 09-29-08, 12:22 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Any more ideas?

Does anyone else have suggestions for a fix to this? I would appreciate any help I can get...
 
  #5  
Old 09-29-08, 04:08 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not sure what an RO filter is. If this RO filter is some sort of house filter, and you have rust scale or sediment in your piping, or that got in from any repair work on the main water line system, maybe that skinny line that feeds your unit got partially plugged, or is plugging the water valve filter. Or maybe it is freezing up on you somehow. I am not too familiar with drinking water/ice cube makers. But if this happened to me, or at a commercial place I do work at?, I'd apply my mechanical skills in going in there to look and see and disconnect the line and test. That sort of thing.
 
  #6  
Old 09-29-08, 04:30 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,112
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
ecman...RO= Reverse Osmosis...normally used for drinking water and fridge supplies as I understand it.

sbuca...hopefully someone else will see this now thats it's been bumped twice. You'd think someone would have an answer.

Maybe a visit to a good appliance supply or a call to the manufacturer is in order. This never would have happened if my Dad was still working for the original GM owned Frigidaire. He'd have said.."this is dumb, give them a bypass plug", of course there were no filters or water in the door thingy's back then. lol
 
  #7  
Old 09-29-08, 05:15 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: sw sub chicago
Posts: 1,128
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
its possible that filter is the same as my whirlepool. my instructions say to simply remove the filter to bypass it.
 
  #8  
Old 09-29-08, 05:44 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,112
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Well, my GE is the same way as long as you don't activate the water or ice maker. Then it shoots out, cause the filter is after the solenoid valve.
 
  #9  
Old 09-30-08, 04:41 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have thought of simply removing the filter to see what happens. The filter itself is about (guessing)
3 1/2" long and maybe 1 1/2" in diameter and cylinder shaped. To install it, you push it up into the opening, then there is a plastic cap/cover with an O ring on the inside that screws into the opening. Any ideas of what would happen if I removed the filter? Except for maybe nothing or a water mess in my fridge?
 
  #10  
Old 09-30-08, 06:24 AM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Remember what I said about junk being in your water lines. Think about this before leaving off a filter.

Just because you have that RO located elsewhere, does not mean you don't have soemthing like solder or rust scale or ? floating around in your pipes that was actually even caused by the pipes, and not from what entered the house. That is why it is good to have filters right at the appliance themselves. And I'm sure that is why they do it. Washers and dishwashers have the screens right there at their water fillvalve intakes.
 
  #11  
Old 09-30-08, 06:31 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,112
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Well, sbuca, the manual says you can change the filter w/o turning off the water supply as long as the water isn't activated. I think it specifically said don't activate the water and to lift the arm on the icemaker, so it doesn't cycle while the filter is out.
If you want to check it, put a towel over the filter port while you do it.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: