maytag range stove bake element not warming


  #1  
Old 01-02-09, 04:00 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
maytag range stove bake element not warming

hi and thanks in advance for your reply

i have a maytag range MER5755QCW ceramic top 4 years old
i set the temperature and as 400 and with in fiew seconds as usual it starts heating
usualy in 10-15 minutes get the right temperature and beep indicating that .
today it get the 200 within 35 minutes and sop on that

the bake element stopped heating
the broil element is working fine ,actualy all other fuctions are working fine.
i removed the botom panel and found the elemnt like melted
when removing it it felt a part
called sears to get a new one ,they were out of stock,so went to reg. store for parts and got that element
the guy checked it on his manual wiyth the model numver and find it in stock
now i installed it and still having the same issue

i am not so good with multimeters but i hope that i did it the right way
i adjusted the meter on 500 v(as it is 200 or 500)

what i checked till now

1) put the stove on bake
one side of the meter on on one side of the element and the other side grund on any panel on the unit got 122 v ac
2)put both sides of meter on both sides of element and got nothing
3)did the same with the broil element and were the same

looks like i have the right voltage coming in

now the thermosensor looks ok because it is showing the right temperature inside

my question now
1)could it be the new heater defective ?
2)can i switch them together and try putting it on broil or the opposit put the broil element on the bake wire and check if will work
is this gonna damage my broil element ?
3)could be the thermosesnor defective
while it can read the right temperature and show it on the panel ?
4) if none of the above and it is the relay board
how can i figure it out and is it fixable or replacing it is the only way
thanks guys .
 
  #2  
Old 01-02-09, 07:05 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,021
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
what i checked till now

1) put the stove on bake
one side of the meter on on one side of the element and the other side grund on any panel on the unit got 122 v ac
2)put both sides of meter on both sides of element and got nothing
3)did the same with the broil element and were the same

#2 is a problem. If you test to both wires coming to the element, you should get 240 volts.

my question now
1)could it be the new heater defective ?
2)can i switch them together and try putting it on broil or the opposit put the broil element on the bake wire and check if will work
is this gonna damage my broil element ?
3)could be the thermosesnor defective
while it can read the right temperature and show it on the panel ?
4) if none of the above and it is the relay board
how can i figure it out and is it fixable or replacing it is the only way
thanks guys

#2 is a good idea. Unplug the broil element and put the bake element in its' place and turn the oven on to see if the bake element heats up. Make sure all exposed wires & connectors don't touch anything when the power is on. My guess is the bake element will work and you'll find that when the element melted it fried the control board relay. APP wants about $127 for a new one, Repair Clinic $175, Sears $194. Let us know what you find. Thanks.
 
  #3  
Old 01-03-09, 08:50 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for you reply .
Yes ,the bake element works fine when connected instead of the broil element and activating it as broil .
looks like the bake relay .
the new question now witch one on the board is the bake relay ?
is it welded on the board or it can be unpluged and we plug a new one ?

Thanks again .
 
  #4  
Old 01-03-09, 09:04 AM
I
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 49
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
After checking the tech sheet for that model, if the control board is bad you will have to replace it.
 
  #5  
Old 01-03-09, 03:07 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes looks like this is the only way
thanks for your help .
i will check with sears and maytag if the part is under warranty as it didn't pass the 5 years warranty
but may be i will be involve in tech. labour and transportation .
i will let you know the result once i replace the part .
Thanks again for your help .
 
  #6  
Old 01-03-09, 10:42 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,021
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Keep us posted. Thanks. It's a shame the relays are not replaceable. Most boards are made that way. If it's out of warranty, you might consider having the board repaired and change it out yourself.
 
  #7  
Old 01-04-09, 12:40 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
well ,looks like the way relays welded on the board are easy to replace ,but first need to check witch relay of them as the board have 3 ,also need tofind same brand and spec. in electronic part store ,
i think that what i will try if maytag will not cover it .
i will post the result .
Thanks and have a great day .
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: