Whirlpool top load washer won't spin

Old 01-09-09, 01:33 PM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Whirlpool top load washer won't spin

I have a Whirlpool top load washer that won't always spin. It will go through all of the other cycles, will agitate, drain, fill. At times it will spin and at other times it will not. Sometimes if I fool around with moving the basket I can get it to spin. From what I can see I should probably check the belt first.

I have never tried to repair a washer before and can't really afford to buy a new one right now, so I would truly appreciate any advice I can get.

Old 01-09-09, 02:46 PM
model #?

when it doesnt spin does the motor run?

yes: could be oil on clutch

no: could be lid switch

Old 01-09-09, 02:47 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
It is most likely the lid switch is bad. Look for a hole in top where lid closes. Put your hand under switch and hold up the switch. Push down on the lever through hold with pen or small screwdriver. Make sure timer is set to spin and on. Switch splits and than will not spin/ If that works you will need to replace switch. Let us know and will tell how to change switch.

Old 01-09-09, 03:12 PM
B
Yes, the motor runs. It is hard to tell when the lid is down whether it is spinning or not just by the sound.

What do you do about oil on clutch?

Old 01-09-09, 04:55 PM
lean washer back against wall and see if there is a line of oil splattered on the inside of cabinet about a foot off floor.

if so youll have to replace the gearcase and the clutch. might was well get a coupler too while your in there.

Old 01-10-09, 04:47 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Make ure it's agitating and not just making noises like it is. Open lid to see if agitating. If not agitating it's most likely the drive coupler. Keep us posted.

Old 01-10-09, 06:23 AM
B