Admiral Washer No cold water


  #1  
Old 04-21-09, 05:24 AM
TheOaf's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Waukesha WI
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Admiral Washer No cold water

I have an Admiral Super Load washer model LNC6740471

It will not run cold water anymore. Once I change the dial to warm/cold or hot/cold hot water runs in but that is all. It is a top load washer and I took the component cover off. There are three "relays" we'll call them for lack of a better term. The one on the far left is circular. There is one in the middle (I think this is where the problem is), and then the one on the right is a large box with many wires going into it.

The one in the middle is a little square realay with 3 wires attatched to it. I read on a another post to switch the two wires around and did that and when it was set to hot/cold then cold water came out but then it stopped half way.

I bought it used so I have no manual or anything. I think the relay in the middle is the fill valve? Is this where my problem is? If that is the case what is the average cost of a fill valve?

Any advice is very appreciated as a new washer is not in the budget right now.
 
  #2  
Old 04-21-09, 08:20 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,021
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Please don't go switching wires around unless you know exactly what you're doing. If you follow the water hoses from the faucets to the machine you'll find the water inlet valve. How many solenoid coils does it have? 2 or 3? Take the hoses off and see if the screens are obstructed [check both ends]. Look inside the valve inlet for crud [use a bright flashlight]. What happens if you reverse the hoses at the machine? With hose reversal, is the cold ok and the hot not working? I could not find your model #. ???
 
  #3  
Old 04-21-09, 10:30 AM
TheOaf's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Waukesha WI
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok I will try switching the hoses on the inlet when I get home from work. Now assuming the cold water then works does that mean I have a faulty inlet valve?

Hard to find model number, this sucker looks quite old
 
  #4  
Old 04-22-09, 03:17 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,021
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes if you now get cold water when you set the machine for hot water, the water valve is faulty, but first check te screens in the hoses. You can get a generic for $10 or so. Search ebay for Whirlpool # 358276, Supco #GVW151 or just plain old CW151. These are universal, generic, two solenoid valves [hot/cold]. You might have to "engineer" the mounting bracket a little. Let us know how you make out. Thanks.
 
  #5  
Old 04-23-09, 10:33 AM
TheOaf's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Waukesha WI
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
well the washer is officially dead. I switched the hoses and it would fill with cold water for wash and then only hot water for rinse (on any setting) and then today it would not rinse at all.
 
  #6  
Old 04-23-09, 02:31 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Rinse are cold water, need to replace valve.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: