GE Washer Won't Aggitate or Spin

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-06-09, 10:58 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GE Washer Won't Aggitate or Spin

I have a GE WJRR4170G1WW that is 16 months old. Suddenly it has stopped aggitating and spinning when it is suppose to be. Specifically, at the start of the wash cycle, the tub fills correctly. After that, instead of aggitating, the pump cuts on and pumps the water out. It never aggitates during the wash cycle. The pump runs throughout the wash cycle until it reaches the rinse and spin cycle. At this point, it fills the tub with water again. When that stops, the pump cuts on again and pumps all the water out. It never spins in this cycle. The pump runs throughout this cycle until it's completed. What I end up having is soaked clothes, wasted water, lost detergent, and raised blood pressure over a brand of washer that I am starting to hate. Could it possible be a timer? Or is there a way to reset the electronics to fix this?
 
  #2  
Old 10-06-09, 03:41 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
I think there nis a tech sheet under consul to use to check out washer. These have had a bad drive tube.
 
  #3  
Old 10-07-09, 08:15 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GE Washer Won't Aggitate or Spin

Possible solutions tried: Lowered drain hose – no change; Check timer voltage output to motor – No problems; Checked motor and electronic board – No problems; Check LED light display (for error code flashes) – Normal condition displayed; Check door switch – No problem there; Check plastic coupler under agitator – No damage; Checked belt – Not damaged, broken, or worn;

Solution that fixed the problem (at no expense cost): 1) Set the washer to the wash mode and started filling tub with water, 2) Unplugged the cord from the wall receptacle and waited one minute before plugging the washer back in, 3) Within (12) seconds, I opened and closed the door lid (6) times. Please note that the door had to be opened at least 2” to break the contact from the door switch….It has to happen within 12 seconds….And it has to be (6) times. When I did this, the software reset itself and everything is now working perfectly. This fix took me about 2 ½ minutes to perform and cost me absolutely nothing.
 
  #4  
Old 10-07-09, 05:47 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Disregard post - no longer relevant. Problem solved.
 

Last edited by ecman51; 10-07-09 at 07:05 PM.
  #5  
Old 10-07-09, 06:42 PM
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 517
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
if it does it again check for a loose hub nut. the computer can sense that its loose and go into oh crap mode
 
  #6  
Old 10-07-09, 07:01 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Disregard. Not applicable.
 
  #7  
Old 10-16-09, 12:21 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wow isnt that amassing. those darn computers
 
  #8  
Old 12-16-12, 08:51 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
won't agitate or spin.. OMG it worked!

I doubted the repair of #3 above.. fill, unplug, wait, plug-in... 6 times in 12 seconds...OMG it fixed it... Keep the main dial the same as when filling, just fill, and unplug.. don't touch the timer..
 
  #9  
Old 12-16-12, 09:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,326 Votes on 1,225 Posts
I'm lost.....what is this....voo doo magic ?

This machine uses a mechanical timer. No computer listed inside machine

Any thoughts Don ?
 
  #10  
Old 12-17-12, 02:15 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
That one has a drive mode and does have a computer. Can't remember for sure but it mat be part of timer.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: