Whirlpool Front-load washer won't turn on

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-28-09, 06:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 185
Whirlpool Front-load washer won't turn on

Hey all,

I have a Whirlpool Duet HT washing machine (GHW9100LW2) that has been working just fine. My wife went to wash a load of clothes, and the unit has no power. She checked the breaker, and verified that the outlet was working, but there's either no juice going to it, or the little hold and turn on button has gone kaput. Any ideas?

Thanks,

Steve
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-29-09, 03:33 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4
I suggest you contact a professional first before doing any diy. I've experience a problem with my frig before and tried to fixed it myself without consulting a technician. I ended up buying a new one.
 
  #3  
Old 10-29-09, 04:02 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,269
Likes Received: 9
Take off the lower front panel there is a tech sheet there, Either in panel or on the side of washer, Start there. !st before check voltage at the outlet. Check for both polarity and 120 volts.
 
  #4  
Old 10-29-09, 04:08 AM
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 517
if you have 120VAC on the green connector at the ccu it could be ccu or the user interface. i would guess ccu since they go bad all the time which is not true for that interface.
 
  #5  
Old 10-29-09, 07:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 185
The manual inside says if you don't hear the CCU click when you plug it in, then it's toast. There's no click. All of the connections look good and clean. I have one of those cheap outlet testers and it said the outlet was OK. Plugged a vacuum in it and it worked OK as well. I have a multi-tester, but have never used it on a wall outlet. Should i use that to check the outlet before i go looking for a CCU?
 
  #6  
Old 10-30-09, 03:38 AM
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 517
remove the top and test for 120 on the green connect at the ccu. that way you are testing the line filter and cord
 
  #7  
Old 10-30-09, 06:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 185
122-123 if i did it correctly. There's also a green plug going to a small tiny box to the right of the ccu, and that wasn't showing anything.
 
  #8  
Old 10-31-09, 01:37 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,269
Likes Received: 9
Green plug power ccu, I think the other green plug is the other end of that line Square box is line filter.
 
  #9  
Old 10-31-09, 07:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 185
I checked both. Power was good at the ccu plug.
 
  #10  
Old 11-02-09, 06:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 185
The part has been ordered. The stupid Dremel giveaway popup is annoying as anything ever could be.
 
  #11  
Old 11-03-09, 03:30 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,269
Likes Received: 9
I totally agree about that pop up. Once was to many
 
  #12  
Old 11-03-09, 08:12 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by kirsten99 View Post
I suggest you contact a professional first before doing any diy. I've experience a problem with my frig before and tried to fixed it myself without consulting a technician. I ended up buying a new one.
Doesn't that defeat the purpose of a DIY forum?
 
  #13  
Old 11-04-09, 06:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 185
Up and running. Thanks for the help.

Steve
 
  #14  
Old 09-08-12, 06:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
What part did you order? Our machine is doing the same thing - no power.

We did hear a click when we plugged it in. We have a WFW9200SQ00 model.
 
  #15  
Old 09-09-12, 04:34 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,269
Likes Received: 9
Have you checked voltage? Did you find tech sheet in bottom of washer and follow it to find out if any codes? Did you check voltage at green connector?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes