My Kenmore front load washer won't spin anymore

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-09-10, 09:59 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy My Kenmore front load washer won't spin anymore

Hi,
My Kenmore front load washer, model # 970-C40042-00, won't spin anymore. The machine seems to wash fine, but no longer goes through the spin cycle. The other functions seem to be OK.

Thanks for the reply.
Adam3
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-10-10, 04:41 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Canada Model # threw me off you have a Frigidaire type washer. Question dose it agitate? If agitates and dose not spin most likely problem is the door lock. I am guessing the water drains out. If water dose not drain you have a clogged water pump or a bad water pump. Keep us posted
 
  #3  
Old 11-10-10, 07:56 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, pugsl,

Yes, it agitates and the water also drains out. I question the door as well but how do I know the door lock is good or not?

I noticed that two plastic sticks on the door look OK and make a clicking sound when the door is closed but the door seems a little bit loose at the bottom.

What is the next step I should do?

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 11-11-10, 04:05 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
There is a test procedure for that but take more time than putting in a new lock and trying it. You have to ohm some of contacts but I don't remember which ones. There is a wiring diagram under lower panel taped to side but it is badly marked. almost useless to us. Almost always have to call our tech lines for help because it is so bad.
 
  #5  
Old 11-11-10, 11:07 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will put in a new lock and try it and let you what will be happened.
Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 11-11-10, 07:28 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
pugsl,
I phoned Sears Service and I was told that a door lock comes with the switch assembly, about $66. Do I need to buy a switch? Do I need take the door seal off to check the switch?
Thanks
 
  #7  
Old 11-12-10, 04:22 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Lock and switch is 1 part. Google frigidaire parts you may be able to get one cheaper, Part # 131763202 . Here is a picture of switch
Part Details - FRIGIDAIRE LOCK, part number: AP4455026
I just went to a couple of sites and prices were a little more but I bet you can find 1 cheaper.
 
  #8  
Old 11-13-10, 09:38 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi pugsl,

One more question before I put the new lock on for a test. Is it possible the belt problem? If possible, should I test my new lock and switch first or check belt first because I can't return the lock once the package is opened.
Thanks
 
  #9  
Old 11-14-10, 06:21 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Dose it agitate. If it dose, the belt is on and good, If not you most likely are looking at a motor controller. Just reread where you said it washes fine and no spin, Most likely is the door lock.
 
  #10  
Old 11-16-10, 10:14 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi pugsl,
I have replaced the lock and lock striker with new ones, but it still not spin. It does agitate, drain out. After water drained, the basket gently rotates back and forth to completely drain, then during spin cycle, the basket does the same and gently rotates back and forth till spin cycle ends. The door lock light is on till all cycles completed. wait for your advice.
Thanks
 
  #11  
Old 11-17-10, 04:07 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
You have a tough one there, Like I said before most likely cause was the door lock, The next thing is the motor control board. Back right corner but can't remember the voltage checks to make to be sure. I just tried to find a site with more wiring checks but did not have much luck. try gooleing Frigidaire repair and see if somebody has the complete checks.
 
  #12  
Old 11-18-10, 07:41 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi pugsl,
It seems not easy for me now. Instead try to fix it, I am going to replace it with a new one. I really appreciate what you did for me and at least I have tried and knew I've got a tough one. I still feel good that I have this channel to get an advice from expert to help me making a decision.
Thanks again.
 
  #13  
Old 11-19-10, 04:39 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
On replacement I like LG, (Kenmore has one made by LG) have to ask.
Samsung is next choice but we have trouble getting parts when needed.
 
  #14  
Old 11-19-10, 10:36 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK I will look at LG first. Thanks a lot.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: