Kenmore washer just fills and stops

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-23-11, 10:56 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Kenmore washer just fills and stops

I have a kenmore washer mod#110.25862400. The water will fill the tub and stop. It does not make any noise at all. Just prior to this it has gotten a bit more noisey than usual. I have checked the switch and it is not loose. but it is hard to tell it could just not be working. any suggestions???
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-24-11, 04:25 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
What switch did you check? Is this a fairly new washer (less than 5years old.) Ifit is than it sounds like the lid switch is bad.
 
  #3  
Old 06-24-11, 05:23 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I done remember when i got it but is is more than 5 yrs old. I had read that the switch that ingages when the lid closes sometimes is loose so I looked at that and it seems solid and tight. I guess i will get a new lid switch it is as good of place as any to start the repair. are they difficult to install???
 
  #4  
Old 06-24-11, 04:14 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
. On top under lid is a slot that is the switch. Put washer in spin and turn on put hand under switch and pull body of switch up. Use a pen or screwdriver and push down on lever thorough slot while holding switch. If spins now switch is bad. Try this first,
If more than 5 years old and dose nothing take off cabinet and wiggle the white wire to the motor while in thw ashs cycle. That is the neutral wire and sometimes comes loose and motor will not run.
Here is a link to what I think your problem is
Whirpool Drive-Coupling Replacement
Just use the part to take cabinet off
 
  #5  
Old 06-25-11, 08:36 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I did the test you suggested

I did as you suggested lifting up on the switch while in the spin cycle. When I put the screw driver in the hole it did begin to spin....I thought this is great I can at least get the water ou of the tub to do the repair. It did not spin long enough to empty the tub of all the water though. I have already replaced the drive coupling in April of 2010. Do they go out quickly I probably only do 3 loads of laundry a week on average. Do you think it is only the switch.
 
  #6  
Old 06-25-11, 02:42 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Yes you most likely started the spin close to the end of cycle. Just redo to finish draining.
 
  #7  
Old 06-26-11, 02:59 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pugsl you are the best!!

It was the lid switch just like you thought. Not a problem to change out. I found several "How to's" on the internet. Thank you very much......guess I'll go do some laundry now.
 
  #8  
Old 06-27-11, 04:27 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Thank You always nice to know we helped.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: