Kenmore 80 not draining

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-29-11, 10:03 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Kenmore 80 not draining

It stopped working before the spin cycle. I flipped the breaker because I thought it had blown because is sometimes does. It started to work but then stopped shortly after. This time there was a slight burning smell. It still did not drain.

Now it just buzzes on any setting. I checked the lid switch, and it seems fine. Checked the water pump to make sure that there was nothing stuck in there and it was fine, so now I not sure what to check next.

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-29-11, 12:54 PM
I
Member
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Kenmore 80 series Model 110.27822790 washer won't spin and drain

Hi, I read some info on this site and I tried to push the lid switch down to see if the washer would spin and drain, but it doesn't do anything. I'm not a handy person, but I was at least able to remove the console screws and open it up. I don't know what I'm looking at, not sure how to open up the top to get to the lid switch. I see two screws next to the lid switch, but have yet to open those. If the washer doesn't work when I push the lid switch down then what does it mean? There is no way I can move the washer, at least not by myself, to get to the back. Both the washer and dryer are pretty snugly placed in a closet with very little room to move them. I did turn the power off from the fuse box since I can't get to the plug in the back of the washer, hope that's enough to keep me from getting shocked?
 
  #3  
Old 09-29-11, 03:32 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Gracie512
Where is the buzzing coming from? top console or bottom?
 
  #4  
Old 09-29-11, 03:34 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
IMNotHandy
When you pushed down on lid switch did you put your hand under it and hold up the bottom part of switch, switch usually splits and won't work. Do not try to take off back of washer all repairs are from front.
 
  #5  
Old 09-30-11, 04:05 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Gracie512 I think you have something stuck in water pump, Water pump is clipped to front of motor. Aftercabinet off you can jump lid switch with pump unclipped and off motor to see if washer runs. Usually sock is to stuck in water pump to get out and you need a water pump. Leave hoses connected to try. Careful there is still water in washer even if looks empty.
This is link to removing cabinet
Whirpool Drive-Coupling Replacement
 

Last edited by the_tow_guy; 09-30-11 at 05:50 AM. Reason: Merging posts
  #6  
Old 09-30-11, 04:07 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Imnothandy
This is link to rempoving cabinet
Whirpool Drive-Coupling Replacement
Cabinet has to come off to replace switch. The loose feeling you have is the switch splitting.
 
  #7  
Old 09-30-11, 12:24 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I already took the water pump off and looked and did not see anything in it. Is there somewhere other than the pump that could be clogged up?
 
  #8  
Old 09-30-11, 02:55 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Originally Posted by Gracie512 View Post
I already took the water pump off and looked and did not see anything in it. Is there somewhere other than the pump that could be clogged up?
Either a timer problem or motor, Find very few motors bad, You can remove timer and open sides and look at points. Sometimes you can file them and get it working.
sorry about not seeiong you had look at water pump 2 posts together here.
 
  #9  
Old 10-02-11, 09:08 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will try and figure out exactly what this looks like and check it out. I will let you know.
 
  #10  
Old 10-02-11, 10:29 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How do you file the points?
 
  #11  
Old 10-03-11, 05:13 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
You can use a emery board or finger nail file.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: