Whirlpool washing machine just stopped, mid cycle

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-19-12, 04:27 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Whirlpool washing machine just stopped, mid cycle

Hi everyone,

i hope someone can help me. I have an old whirlpool washer. The other day it just stopped working mid cycle. The water is still there and won't go down. No cycle will start.
Do you know what could be wrong?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-19-12, 05:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,659
Received 1,167 Votes on 1,082 Posts
Could be a number of issues. Did you check the outlet that the machine is plugged into ? If that's good you could have a timer problem. On the older machines the door switch only controlled spin so I doubt that is your issues. Sometimes you can push-pull (start-stop) the timer knob a few times. Another thing to try.... put machine into wash cycle......move water level control from hi to med to lo. Does that make the machine do anything ?
 
  #3  
Old 10-19-12, 06:48 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
post model # can help to know what washer we are talking about.
 
  #4  
Old 10-19-12, 07:07 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for lithe suggestions, but they didn't work. I tried turning on every cycle and nothing happens. Not even any motor sound. I changed the water levels too.
 
  #5  
Old 10-19-12, 07:10 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi pugsl,
pick don't know the model number. Is it on the washer somewhere?
 
  #6  
Old 10-19-12, 09:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,659
Received 1,167 Votes on 1,082 Posts
Lift the lid. Should be in the back there under the lid. A metal tag full of old soap. Sometimes you have to squat down a bit to see it.

I'm guessing you also checked the outlet and found it to be working ?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: