Viking Stove burner not igniting

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-01-12, 10:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Viking Stove burner not igniting

I have a Viking Professional Range with 4 burners, a griddle and a grill. Two ovens underneath. The right hand rear burner has not lit for awhile unless I used a match. The main oven ignitor on one of the burners went out recently so I called a repair service. They came by, charged me $75 to diagnose the problem and said they would order the parts and return. A week later they said they could't get in touch with AllViking to get the parts. I called AllViking and got a new spark ignition switch and two ignitors for the oven. I installed the new stove spark ignition switch on the rear burner knob assembly and nothing. I moved the new switch to the front burner knob assembly and moved the working switch from the front burner to the rear burner. The front burner sparked with the new switch thus proving it is a good switch however the rear burner with the known good switch failed to spark. I have traced the rear burner red wire back to the junction? box in the rear of the stove. Looks good, the black wire is hot, as the rest of the switches work and I forgot to unplug the stove once while doing this..I will not forget again, ouch.
Any thoughts?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-01-12, 10:10 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 342 Votes on 320 Posts
The spark ignition modules go bad. If you could find the module you can test it. Check out this thread. I very rarely work on these units but the ignition switches seem to last a lot longer than the spark modules.

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ga...-question.html
 
  #3  
Old 12-01-12, 02:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks PJ, I checked the module... I switched the burner wires - sure enough the switched wire didn't spark. The module had an extra pin on it. I attached the burner wire to it and everything works. I changed both of the oven igniters as well, as one was broken. The Appliance Repair firm whom I hired and whom charged me $75 for the visit and diagnosis got it wrong. I will order a new module from AllViking to have on hand, and change out the old one when I do not have anything else to do!
 
  #4  
Old 12-02-12, 01:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 342 Votes on 320 Posts
Good news and great job
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: