Maytag Atlantis wont spin on the spin cycle

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-14-12, 07:21 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Maytag Atlantis wont spin on the spin cycle

My wife informed me that yesterday when she was doing a large load of laundry that it did not spin the clothes dry when it got to the spin cycle. She then tried latter to wash a small load and it seemed to work fine.

I plan on opening up the machine tonight and trying to find out what the problem might be. Any advice?

Thanks in advance for any help/advice given.

Scott
 
  #2  
Old 12-14-12, 07:38 AM
N
Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,743
Received 18 Votes on 16 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

A quick google search indicates it is a belt driven washing machine.
Knowing this, I would say either;
A. The load was just too much for the machine to spin the water out (I'm guilty of this often)
B. The belt is worn and slipping when under a heavy load (water + cloths).

I'd think that the belt would be worth looking at. If it's visably worn or shiny, it's time to replace.
 
  #3  
Old 12-14-12, 08:45 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Mike, I will see what I find tonight. I'm guessing that it was not to big of a load as we have done pretty large loads in the past with no problems but who knows? The belt might be a good posibility. I dont remember changing the belt in the 10 years we have had the unit. Maybe I have but do not remember doing it. Any other indicators or tests I could preform on a belt to see if it is bad, other than being worn or shinny?

Thanks Again.
 
  #4  
Old 12-14-12, 09:11 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
Please post model # can help better, Googling your washer I found this site maybe it will help, seems to cover what I would tell you.
[Video] Maytag Atlantis Washer - Won't Spin or Agitate
 
  #5  
Old 12-14-12, 10:33 AM
N
Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,743
Received 18 Votes on 16 Posts
sameints,
If the washer is 10yrs old, I would almost put money on the belt being the issue, and it should show signs of it. If you haven't changed it in that time, it has done you well (or we just abuse our washer too much).
The link pugsl provided does have a part number as well as the markings on the belt. You might be able to simply take the info from the belt markings and match it at a local hardware store that sells belts. Might be cheaper and quicker then going through the manufactore.
 
  #6  
Old 12-14-12, 03:01 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the info. I do not have the model number with me but I can post it when I get to the machine. I knew that would be a help but did not have it at the time of post.

Thanks for the link!
 
  #7  
Old 12-15-12, 05:30 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, I took off the belt and it seems fine. I went to the applince repair to get another one just incase that was it. The guy there said that the belt was fine. Told him my problem. He thought it was the Thrust Bearing. Bought the kit and installed it. I get to the last step (before doing any adjusting), and I can not get the retaining clip back on. It seems as if the shaft needs to be pulled down just a little bit so I can get the clip into the grove that it is suppose to sit in. Any ideas on what I can do? Thanks.
 
  #8  
Old 12-15-12, 06:23 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
Very common problem, use thin washer, I put a screwdriver in slot and try to pry brake up enouht to start clip than I use a pair of pliers to push clip in. If you had the brake tool I would tell you to release brake and than stick a screwdriver between brake and bottom plate. If you can't get clip still in take 2 of the screws out in brake hub and get 2 longer screws put them in and tighten them remove other 4 screws than loosen the other 2 enough to insert screwdriver retighten and brake will be pushed up for clip. Usually you can get clip in with screwdriver in slot. Do not forget to lube plastic cam.
 
  #9  
Old 12-15-12, 09:06 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, well I tried these two fixes to the best of my ability but no luck. I'm not sure that I totally understand all you are saying.

You say to put a screwdriver in the slot and pry up the brake. What slot are you refering to and which piece of the brake are you talking about (the piece with the 6 bolts in it that screw up into the machine from the bottom)?

I also tried to put longer bolts into the 2 holes and then removed the other 4 bolts like you suggested. You say to then to insert a screwdriver and tighent the two screws. Where do I put the screwdriver when I tighten?

I know that these may sound like stupid questions but I'm really not clear. If there are any pictures that could be shared It might make it more clear. Sorry for my ignorance!

One last thing, I assume that you are talking about doing all of this from under the machine and removing the front panel is not necessary. Not a big deal if I do have to, just trying to make it clear. Thanks for all the help up to now. Pretty frustrating that I have gotten this far and one stupid little retaining clip is holding me up!
 
  #10  
Old 12-16-12, 05:00 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
put screwdriver in slot where clip goes in. Screwdriver on 1 side clip in from other side. Other method is drop brake pan down with 2 screws and slide a screwdriver in between pan and brake. need to go in a angle to clear pulley and needs to be a long screwdriver. A short round rod will work also but remember you have to get rod or screwdriver out after thrust bearing is installed and brake will have full tension on it.
 
  #11  
Old 12-23-12, 09:52 AM
E
Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replaced Timer

Similar problem of spin cycle not working -- I replaced control panel timer -- $50 on ebay -- Noticed buzzing coming from control knob when it reached spin cycle -- jiggled and it would start to spin -- after jiggled a few times the thing blew altogether -- replaced timer and back in business.
 
  #12  
Old 12-23-12, 10:16 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,853
Received 1,335 Votes on 1,234 Posts
Yeah......that buzzing you heard was the timer contacts burning


Timer from Ebay......was it used ?
 
  #13  
Old 12-28-12, 11:57 AM
E
Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New Timer

It looks like I got the last new one on e-bay. Sears and applianceparts.com have it from $130-$150. Part: Timer Control for Maytag 22004189. Parts frequently resurface on ebay so you could try again.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: