Another Whirlpool Top Load Grinding During Spin Cycle Question


  #1  
Old 04-08-14, 08:31 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Another Whirlpool Top Load Grinding During Spin Cycle Question

Whirlpool top load washer with agitator. Starting during the rinse cycle, the washer stops, lid unlocks, and then will restart and drain after you press the start button to pause, and then again to restart. When it gets to the spin cycle, a grinding noise starts. The the lid unlocks, you (again) press the stat button to pause, again to restart. Starts grinding again. It never really sounds like it's spinning, but the clothes end up dry, as if they were spun. Any ideas?
 
  #2  
Old 04-09-14, 01:53 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,161
Received 77 Upvotes on 70 Posts
Please post model # need to see which washer you have.
 
  #3  
Old 04-09-14, 05:33 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The model number is WTW4800XQ1
 
  #4  
Old 04-09-14, 10:02 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,161
Received 77 Upvotes on 70 Posts
you have the new belt drive washer and will have to pull codes. I have manual but don't know how to post. later pjmax will be on and he posted it before. After you get codes will try to help. Codes are read in 2 parts. On bottom of page 3 (I think) is the way to read them.
 
  #5  
Old 04-09-14, 10:17 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks! I will check out the manual and see how to read them, and will then post.
 
  #6  
Old 04-09-14, 02:52 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,161
Received 77 Upvotes on 70 Posts
Just thought of something, Lean washer back against wall and look under it. There is a plastic shield covering pulley. If damaged or the pulley is loose get some loctite ( not sure of spelling) from auto part store. Reinstall pulley and nut. Put cover back on groove cut in it won't hurt anything.
 
  #7  
Old 04-10-14, 06:29 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Great - thanks! I will try that tonight. Didn't get a chance to do anything with it last night.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: