Frigidaire Washer knocks during spin cycle

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-02-14, 12:52 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Frigidaire Washer knocks during spin cycle

So, I have a Frigidaire washer that makes knocking sound when the spin cycle gets up to full speed. The interesting thing is that when I took the protective cover off the top of the washing drum the spin cycle proceeds with no problems at all.

Any ideas?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-02-14, 01:26 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Please post model# and is it a top or front loader.
 
  #3  
Old 06-02-14, 03:32 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ah, thank you.

The washer is a top loader. Frigidaire model # GLWS1649AS1

Hope this helps, I still have no idea why having the cover off gets rid of the knocking sound. Nothing is stuck between the inner rotating drum and the outside drum.
 
  #4  
Old 06-02-14, 03:49 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Cover off? What cover are you talking about. Here is diagram of washer
http://www.searspartsdirect.com/part...od=GLWS1649AS1
Have you taken the front off and looked in there? Where does the noise come from top, bottom sides?
 
  #5  
Old 06-02-14, 05:28 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the parts link. The piece is the Cover Splash. Part # 131551102.

I currently have the top up and the front off of the machine. The sound is coming from the Tub area.
 
  #6  
Old 06-02-14, 08:05 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Issue has been resolved. I pulled out the inner washing drum and discovered that the circular filter underneath had come loose. Once it was secured back in place all was well. I can only assume that taking the cover splash off released some tension and let the filter simply sit in place.

But all is well and the unit is running a load as I type this.
 
  #7  
Old 06-03-14, 01:07 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Thanks for the update. Not a common problem and only way to find it was look.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: