Amana Freezer Not getting cold

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-14-14, 12:03 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Amana Freezer Not getting cold

I have a Amana side by side Model # ARS2367AW that the freezer is not getting cold like it was I checked the seal and the setting is at 6 1/2 on the knob just to keep ice cream cold. it makes ice and most everything is cold I have a thermostat inside it only reads zero. i cleaned the back fan on the fridge. Any help would be great.
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-14-14, 10:02 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,146
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

0 f is good for the freezer..... what is the fridge temp. ?

Is the compressor running continuously or can you hear it cycling ?
Cleaning and vacuuming the fan and the coils under the fridge is extremely important for the unit to work properly.

Your fridge uses a mechanical thermostat to monitor the freezer temperature which is a lot easier to troubleshoot than an electronic control board.
 
  #3  
Old 06-15-14, 10:08 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The setting for the freezer is turned up to 6 1/2 just to keep a constant zero, I will try and vacuum under the fridge today see if that makes it change.

As for the compressor running continuously I am not sure?

Good to know it has a mechanical thermostat to monitor the freezer temperature and I hope will be easy to troubleshoot.

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 06-15-14, 11:22 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was able to hear the compressor running it sounds like it is cycling ?
Looked at vacuuming the bottom but seems to be hard to access what is the easiest way to do this vacuum or air , did clean the rear fan. Checked the freezer fan it is working.

After unplugging the fridge the fan turned on for about 30 plus sec then the compressor turned on and started running. I will check the fridge temp in the am see where its at and the setting on dial.

Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 06-18-14, 10:09 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Problem solved new fridge
 
  #6  
Old 06-18-14, 10:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,146
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Yup... That's one way of taking care of the problem.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: