Spin cycle ONLY!

Old 08-28-14, 05:48 PM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Spin cycle ONLY!

I'm *pretty sure* that I have a faulty timer, but I thought I'd post here to see if you guys agree.

When I turn on the washer, it will fill up the tub with water, but then immediately start to spin instead of agitate. It doesn't train the tub, but spins it while it's full and also does the water spritzing thing (which leads to a wet floor...)

What do you guys think? I'm no expert, but from what I read online the timer seems to be most likely culprit. Anything else that it could be?

Thanks in advance!

Sponsored Links
Old 08-28-14, 06:32 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
post make and model # If a newer whirlpool Could be something else.

Old 08-28-14, 06:38 PM
R
It's a pretty old Amana. Manufacturer model number is PALW88OQAW. (Not sure if that was an O or a zero...)

Thanks!

Edit: Did a google search and it looks like it's an O and the first "P" is dropped (the tag listed it both ways). Mine is a ALW88OQAW

Old 08-28-14, 06:44 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Could not get model # to work. Fairbanks may be on later and have some ideas. I think that washer was built by maytag.

Old 08-28-14, 06:46 PM
R
Did you catch my edit when you checked? That first P is dropped. Thanks pugsl!

Old 08-28-14, 07:22 PM
F
When you look down into the tub, which direction is it spinning? CW or CCW?

Old 08-28-14, 08:01 PM
R
I already have it torn apart, so I can't turn it back on at the moment to check, but I'm 95% sure it's clockwise.

Old 08-28-14, 08:17 PM
F