Kenmore circuit board fuse?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-27-14, 09:44 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,991
Received 55 Votes on 45 Posts
Kenmore circuit board fuse?

Reached into fridge this morning and noticed light was off. Further check and it's got no power. Outlet is live. Called for a repair tech to come later to check. Since they won't be out until between 4-7 I decided to carefully do some investigating. Discovered one of the two fuses on the main circuit board is apparently blown even though the fail-point is intact; guessing it has failed inside where the end of the element meets the end cap.

Question: Do I understand that the only fix for this is to replace the entire circuit board??? The fuse does not appear to be replaceable except by desoldering from board and getting a new one in. I briefly bypassed the fuse and the fridge fired right up.

Kenmore top freezer 795.79292.901

New board is about $190 from Sears, but I've found some lower including a reman for under $100.

So additional questions. (1) Is it likely the blown fuse is a one-time event, or does this need further troubleshooting to prevent blowing fuse on replacement board?
(2) Remann'd board a good choice?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-27-14, 09:55 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,991
Received 55 Votes on 45 Posts
And just as an afterthought, why do they engineer stuff like this with non-replaceable fuses???
 
  #3  
Old 10-27-14, 10:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,129
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
That is kind of interesting. I haven't seen board like that before. Most don't use any fuses.
Usually a non replaceable fuse is considered catastrophe protection.

If it was me I'd try resoldering a new fuse in. You can buy them with wires on them. I make my own but you have to be real fast with the soldering iron or the link melts.

Name:  board.jpg
Views: 3877
Size:  36.9 KB
 
  #4  
Old 10-27-14, 11:08 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I'd put a new fuse on as well. RS carries the type with leads I think(?), and if your skills aren't up to it any electronics shop would probably do it for cheap.
 
  #5  
Old 10-27-14, 11:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,129
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Field trip to New Jersey.
 
  #6  
Old 10-28-14, 12:46 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 35 Votes on 27 Posts
They used to make a clip for those fuses that would then allow a regular fuse (without leads) to be used. Pretty common on televisions some forty years ago or so. I haven't the foggiest where to even begin to look for one.
 
  #7  
Old 10-28-14, 04:16 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,991
Received 55 Votes on 45 Posts
I have to say I made a pretty good fix, I think. Went browsing at RS for a holder and fuses. Found a holder I thought I could adapt but after getting back to my bench it looked like a struggle. In a flash of genius, I removed the terminals from the two holders and soldered them back to back to make piggyback adapters. Fridge has been happily humming away fro about 18 hours now. Check it out:

Name:  IMG_7741 (Large).jpg
Views: 1748
Size:  30.5 KB
Name:  IMG_7742 (Large).jpg
Views: 1760
Size:  34.4 KB
Name:  IMG_7744 (Large).jpg
Views: 2862
Size:  35.9 KB
Name:  IMG_7745 (Large).jpg
Views: 1971
Size:  37.5 KB
 
Attached Images  
  #8  
Old 10-28-14, 04:21 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
I like it. Keeps heat away from fuse.
 
  #9  
Old 10-28-14, 12:21 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 35 Votes on 27 Posts
Excellent work, Tow. op[kvdoe[kmg
 
  #10  
Old 10-28-14, 01:08 PM
dirtydickey's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 54
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Why not investigate why the fuse blew in the first place?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: