Washer does not start

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-10-14, 06:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Washer does not start

Hey guys,
well another appliance repair for me.Washers more difficult than the fridge and oven though. My washre doesnt start ,not in fill,no agitate,nothing. Checked outlet ,that works. So I know theres power, sources are telling me it might be the timer. I know its usually the small things that go out first,so hopefully it's not the 120 dollar timer.Might also be a fuse,I dont know,im not very good with electronics..It worked fine today,then when I came home wife told me didnt start. Any experience with this problem anyone? It is a Frigidaire model number
FWS933FS3.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-10-14, 07:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,531
Received 330 Votes on 308 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

On your machine.... all power passes thru the lid switch assembly.
Frigidaire Washing Machine Door Lock 134936800 - Repair Clinic


The following video shows you how to access and change it. You can check the switch with an ohmmeter at this point. Make sure unit is unplugged first.
you tube/watch?v=C0DKBeHp9D8
 
  #3  
Old 12-11-14, 06:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was wondering if that switch determined everything.That was mentioned in a vid on youtube.I'll check that out,thank you !
 
  #4  
Old 12-11-14, 07:10 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
On your machine.... all power passes thru the lid switch assembly
Above is a quote from PJ. It looks like your machine needs the lid switch working in order for anything to work.

Some washing machines will fill and agitate with a bad lid switch, but not spin. This isn't the case with yours. No lid switch and it's dead in the water.
 
  #5  
Old 12-11-14, 07:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also,I noticed the lock pin was stuck ,so it must be that. Thanks guys!
 
  #6  
Old 12-14-14, 06:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I got the switch,still no go. I re verified the outlet source,works . Is there some kind of reset switch I am unaware of? Appreciate the help.
 
  #7  
Old 12-14-14, 11:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,531
Received 330 Votes on 308 Posts
Normally we troubleshoot the problem rather then throw parts at the problem. You need to check for 120vav thru the lid switch. That power then goes down to the motor where it will need to be checked next. The link below is the wiring diagram for your machine.

Frigidaire FWS933FS3: Wiring Diagram Parts - Appliance Parts Pros
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: