Maytag oven

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-06-15, 04:32 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,804
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
Maytag oven

Hi All,Maytag oven mdl# MER 7662XX 1 will not maintain correct temperature either it over shoots or never reaches setting.
Geo
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-06-15, 04:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,150
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
I'm guessing you meant..... MER7662WW1.

Since it overshoots that tells me that you have a temperature sensor probe issue. With an ohmmeter you can measure it. It can also measure ok and still be defective.

Since there is a connector behind the oven wall and another at the control board..... the problem can also lie there.

Your temp sensor probe is a W10181986. At room temperature it should measure 1080 ohms.

The following is just one of many places that sell that part. They also have a video on that page for testing the probe. Maytag Range Temperature Sensor W10181986 Repair Clinic

Name:  temp_values.JPG
Views: 1372
Size:  49.4 KB
 
  #3  
Old 03-07-15, 04:30 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,804
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
Pete,your right about the WW ,I'll check that later today and see what's up,there is a means to recalibrate the temperature readings, any idea what that really does?
If anything can fail it will.

Geo
 

Last edited by Geochurchi; 03-07-15 at 05:29 AM.
  #4  
Old 03-07-15, 08:57 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,804
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
OK,so after performing the Diagnostic checks as described in the "For the Tech" paper found on the back of the oven, everything checked out OK including the oven sensor,one thing I don't understand is what is meant by "user cooking offset"can be set between 00 and 30.
Any thoughts?
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 03-07-15, 03:05 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,804
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
Oven temperature: "User cooking offset"

Hi All., in the Maytag Tech Only paper used for diagnostics it mentions "user cooking offset", there is an adjustment to increase from 00(factory setting) to 30,can anyone explain what this function does?
Geo
 

Last edited by PJmax; 03-07-15 at 10:39 PM. Reason: combined two threads into one
  #6  
Old 03-07-15, 04:06 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No.

You know PJ is the man on appliance troubleshooting. If it's what I think it is, the oven temperature can be adjusted by user.
I have a Kenmore Elite (Electrolux) and I know I can adjust the oven temperature +/-.
I've never had the need to do it so I didn't study the procedure. I do know it wasn't obvious. You would have to know how to program using the touch pad.
 
  #7  
Old 03-07-15, 06:02 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,150
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Have you heard someone say.... this is a hot oven or a cold oven. That's where it appears that the set temperature either doesn't match the actual temperature or it does but you'd like to custom reset it. Most everything is baked at 350. If it appeared that the oven didn't respond as intended you could change it a few degrees.

You had a problem with your oven hunting or overshooting the mark. The offset adjustment won't fix that problem.
 
  #8  
Old 03-07-15, 08:57 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good explanation Pete about the custom reset.
The +/- I referred to is not selecting or calibrating a baking temperature, it's overriding the default values. Like I said, my oven will do this, but I can't think of why the function would be needed.
 
  #9  
Old 03-09-15, 08:27 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,804
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
Can the temp probe cause the temps to be either hi or low even though it tests OK?there appears to be no rhyme or reason for the temps.
Geo
 
  #10  
Old 03-09-15, 08:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,150
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
I've seen them test ok and be bad. Another member just had the same problem.

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...ot-enough.html
 
  #11  
Old 03-10-15, 07:51 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,804
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
I have ordered a new sensor,it's not that it's not hot enough some times it's to hot.very radical.
I hope this works so I can get the Warden off my back
Geo
 
  #12  
Old 03-13-15, 01:48 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,804
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
Maytag oven update

So I replaced the temp sensor,now when the oven is set to Preheat 200*alert goes off temp on stove reads 200* Fluke thermocouple reads 265*and by using the stove diagnostics the new temp sensor shows 250*
Is there any means to make an adjustment on the control board ie. "pots"?
Thoughts!
Geo
 
  #13  
Old 03-13-15, 01:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,150
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
There is a way to electronically shift the temperature but I don't think it shifts more than +/- 15.

Did you try setting the oven to 300 ?
 
  #14  
Old 03-13-15, 04:23 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,804
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
I did not try setting it over 300* only because my Fluke goes out of range,why would that make a difference ? +\- 15* might be better than nothing.
Geo
 
  #15  
Old 03-13-15, 04:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,150
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Fluke thermocouple reads 265*and by using the stove diagnostics the new temp sensor shows 250*
So you set the oven to preheat which should be 200 and the temperature was actually 250 or 265?
 
  #16  
Old 03-13-15, 04:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,150
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
I don't think your temperature sensor is the problem. Here is the temperature offset adjustment.

Name:  may_cal.jpg
Views: 331
Size:  54.5 KB
 
  #17  
Old 03-13-15, 04:49 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,804
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
That's correct--------///--
 
  #18  
Old 03-14-15, 07:48 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,804
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
It appears that these instructions recal. The temperature sensor,based on the fact that with my Fluke thermocouple set in the oven and using the diagnostics on the oven I can get the sensor to with in 10* of the Fluke,should this method make the oven temp more accurate?
Geo
 
  #19  
Old 03-14-15, 10:10 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,150
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Yes.... the actual temperature will be closer to set point.
 
  #20  
Old 03-15-15, 10:03 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,804
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
Still having a problem when making the adjustment as described below,if the oven is overshooting the pre heat setpoint should I be increasing setting to say that the probe is seeing a higher temp than what is actually in the oven?
Geo
 
  #21  
Old 03-17-15, 09:50 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,804
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
Look's like I need to replace the Control board,my question would now be,what would the P/N be for just the board,not the face plate,as most of what I see are black and white is on B/O
Thanks
Geo
 
  #22  
Old 03-17-15, 11:45 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,150
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
The board only comes one way.

I was cruising around.... many places have the boards... there are several finishes.
I found Sears to have a too-good-to-be-true price on the board. I'd check it out....

Range Electronic Oven Control Board | Part Number W10476672 | GUARANTEED FIT from Sears PartsDirect
 
  #23  
Old 03-17-15, 03:12 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,804
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
That definitely is the best price,the best price I could find was about $180.00 with core charge,can't seem to find much about the Sears part, ie. used or rebuilt only guaranteed to fit.
Just called their help number and found out it is new and maytag, and if ordered by phone I save another $10.00
Geo
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: