ge washer won't agitate

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-30-15, 06:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 5
ge washer won't agitate

I have a ge washer that trips the circuit breaker when it starts to agitate. I've replaced the belt but still trips breaker it spins and drains on that setting put soon as it fills and starts the breaker goes help please
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-30-15, 06:14 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,697
Likes Received: 11
Welcome to the forums!

By breaker do you mean the circuit breaker in the electrical panel, or is it a GFCI receptacle with a "test" and "reset" button on it?
 
  #3  
Old 05-30-15, 06:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 5
yes the circuit breaker trips as soon as it starts to agitate
 
  #4  
Old 05-30-15, 06:21 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Have you tested the washer on a receptacle on a different breaker?
 
  #5  
Old 05-30-15, 06:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 5
no but every other cycle works just not wash
 
  #6  
Old 05-30-15, 08:37 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,697
Likes Received: 11
Is this a 15 or 20 amp circuit? Try running it on another circuit temporarily with an extension cord, preferably on a 20 amp circuit. If that breaker trips you likely have an issue with the washer, not the circuit/breaker.
 
  #7  
Old 05-30-15, 08:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,582
Likes Received: 108
Can you post the GE model number.

One possibility is the timer is activating two windings at the same time.
 
  #8  
Old 05-30-15, 09:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Sorry forgot to refresh the model # S2200Y0WW
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-31-15 at 08:19 AM. Reason: corrected model number(O to 0)
  #9  
Old 05-31-15, 06:08 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,250
Likes Received: 6
Please check model # not working
 
  #10  
Old 05-31-15, 08:13 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 264
Model number is valid. Remove front panel and try rotating motor pulley by hand in agitate direction. This would be CW looking down on it. It should be easy to rotate and this should cause the agitator to go back and forth. If it won't go, pull the agitator to see if something is jamming underneath it. If clear, then looks like a faulty transmission. Motor run windings on this model are selected by the speed switch, not the timer. The timer does select the polarity of power applied to the start winding so a faulty timer is still a possibility if you rule out the transmission as the problem.
 

Last edited by fairbank56; 05-31-15 at 08:39 AM.
  #11  
Old 05-31-15, 03:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Pulled agitator out there seems to be a thin piece of wire or metal sticking up through the crease of the metal plate and the tub
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes