Electric dryer plug question.

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-09-15, 08:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electric dryer plug question.

Hi.

Help, please.

I have a late 1970s or early 1980s dryer. Kenmore. Older than me!

I want to replace it as there is no heat. Not interested in repairing it as it would probably just have another issue soon and probably not energy efficient.
.
My question. It turns on fine...the thing inside turns. Everything seems to work but no heat. The big plastic hose to the outside is not blocked.

My question. If the machine comes on (the light, etc) and the thing inside turns. Does this mean that the electrical breaker is ok and that all the power to the dryer is good?. I ask because I want to get a new dryer and wonder if I can just have this one pulled out and replaced with a new one. I'm scared to touch the big plug or the breaker in the electrical box on the wall

Thank you
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-09-15, 08:27 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
My question. If the machine comes on (the light, etc) and the thing inside turns. Does this mean that the electrical breaker is ok and that all the power to the dryer is good?
No. Everything you describe runs on 120 volts. Half the breaker could be bad and they will still work. Heat is 240 volts. If half the breaker is bad you will have no heat.
 
  #3  
Old 06-10-15, 04:04 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,413
Received 19 Votes on 18 Posts
turn breaker on and off a couple of times and than try dryer. New dryer will not be any more energy efficient, as most of power use is the heater element.
 
  #4  
Old 06-10-15, 08:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks so much for the advice.

I will try and find someone to to flip the breaker. I don't like touching anything in the box.

Another question, please. If the breaker is reset and there is heat in the dryer. Is it likely a problem with the dryer or the breaker? I know you can't know for sure but is one issue more likely? My mother's stove once wasn't working and the repairman put a new breaker in the box. Afterwards a neighbor said it was likely had not been not necessary.

Thank you
 
  #5  
Old 06-10-15, 11:31 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,413
Received 19 Votes on 18 Posts
Very hard to say but if breaker does not reset unplug dryer and than try it. If breaker does reset and dryer works, a week or so later it trips than i would guess breaker. Just clicking breaker switch will not give you any shock and as long as you just hold the rubber part of dryer cord same thing.
If breaker was not tripped than you have a dryer problem. Dryer are usually very easy to fix but 30 year old dryer probably not worth it.
 
  #6  
Old 06-10-15, 05:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes ions but can the

Thanks.

I checked on line and there are 10 year old dryers for sale for around $100 to $150 delivered. Quite a few. I called one fellow and he said to keep my chord as it may be different outlet from a newer one. I'm sorry to keep asking questions but will the chord on this one fit on one with a different plug?

Of course, if it a breaker issue, then another dryer won't work.

I was surprised when I wiggled the dryer away from the wall how it wasn't all that heavy. My washer weighed a ton when I had it replaced. I had some cold lemonade for the two guys who carried it away.
 
  #7  
Old 06-10-15, 06:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,668
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
Most dryers come without a cord. It's fairly easy to exchange cords if need be. Where the cord goes into the back of the dryer is a cover over the electrical connections. Remove the cover and the connections are visible.
 
  #8  
Old 06-11-15, 04:11 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,413
Received 19 Votes on 18 Posts
Cords will be either 3 or 4 prongs, Your old cord will work either way and easy to wire. Let us know which type and can tell you how to do it.
 
  #9  
Old 06-12-15, 06:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you so much for the offer to help. I will probably get a dryer this weekend. I will post the name of it.

I took the little white panel off where the cord is. I now see how it is just set in there with some screws. The one that goes into the wall has four prongs and one of them is 'L' shaped.

Much appreciated
 
  #10  
Old 06-12-15, 06:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,668
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
A four prong power cord is a good thing.

We're ready when you need us.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: