No voltage on one side of broiler

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-21-15, 05:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 36
No voltage on one side of broiler

Hello brothers and sisters,

Electrolux Icon - E48DF76EPS - broil element not working, bake is good, small side-oven all good.
Good continuity on broil element - 14.2
120vac on one of its wires, but the other wire is dead. If I understand correctly, I need 120vac on each wire.

What should I check next? I do not want to just throw parts at this.... they seem to be pricey.

Regards
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-21-15, 06:19 AM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Did you disconnect the element before you checked for current? Can you connect the element with no juice to the side with juice? That will tell you if the element, itself is good
 
  #3  
Old 06-21-15, 07:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 36
I took the element out of the oven to check for continuity.
I do not understand your suggestion to connect the element with no juice to the side with juice.

There are two wires that go to the element. I tested voltage - with element removed - and only one has 120vac. I think both wires need 120vac
 
  #4  
Old 06-21-15, 09:06 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,511
Likes Received: 105
The continuity on your element sounds ok. You'll need to check for 240vac at the element.

240v is two hot legs with each leg measuring 120v to neutral or ground. The appliance manufacturers supply one leg of power directly to one end of the element and switch the second leg.

Since your oven element is working fine it means you have 240v TO the unit. At this point it would appear that you have a control board issue.

Check for the 240v at the element and let us know.
 
  #5  
Old 06-21-15, 09:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 36
Hi Pete,

I measured both wires that go to the broil element with element out of oven. One side (red wire) has 120vac and the other (blue wire) is dead.

How to trouble shoot the board? And where do you guys get your parts/

Regards
 
  #6  
Old 06-21-15, 11:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,511
Likes Received: 105
I will help you troubleshoot the control board if that is something you seriously want to do or you can just change the board. More than likely the board will need to be resoldered. Either the relays I've circled in the picture or the wire attaching pins. The board part number is 5304453231. One location is Sears parts direct.

Dual-fuel Range Electronic Control Board | Part Number 5304453231


Name:  Relay-Board-5304453231--01252381.jpg
Views: 221
Size:  27.1 KB




Wiring diagram for future use.....
sears parts direct/png//R120/R1204102-00006.png?wid=250&hei=250
 
  #7  
Old 06-22-15, 04:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 36
Thanks Pete. That is the best price out there - $130 less.
I will replace it, just wanted to be sure this is the thing to replace.

Regards
 
  #8  
Old 06-22-15, 05:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,511
Likes Received: 105
I would check at the board first before making a commitment.

Red is the common line to both elements.
Yellow is the bake element. When in bake mode you should measure 240v between red and yellow.
Black(maybe blue) is the broil element. When in broil mode you should measure 240v between black(blue) and red.

If you don't have a meter you may be able to swap the black and yellow wires to switch bake/broil operation.

Name:  Relay-Board-5304453231--01252381.jpg
Views: 195
Size:  30.3 KB
 
  #9  
Old 06-23-15, 04:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 36
Good deal. if board checks good, what would cause one of the wires to the broil element (blue wire) to be dead., what should I check next?

Thanks
 
  #10  
Old 06-23-15, 05:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,511
Likes Received: 105
It would have to be an actual break along the wire or at one of the ends.
 
  #11  
Old 06-27-15, 08:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 36
Electrolux Control Board

Success!! Board replacement brought her back to life.
But what a poor design for such an expensive stove. Spillage protection is minimal, and the cover plates for the boards and other electronics have no protection at all, fortunately our spillages had never been major and did not reach that area. I put a bid of silicone just because I was already in there.

Thanks for all the help, Pete
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes