Estate/Whirpool Washer Stopped Spinning

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-29-15, 09:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Estate/Whirpool Washer Stopped Spinning

Estate by Whirlpool washer suddenly stopped spinning one night.Itwould just barely agitate and made a loud, grinding noise.After watching Youtube videos, I decided to check the motor coupling.I took if off and saw it was broken.I replaced the motor coupling and hooked it up and went to spin cycle.It spun but sounded different.A few minutes later, the washer shut off and a burning smell came from it.After reading other threads about replacing the motor coupling, I found out that it needed to be flush or the burning smell would occur.I took it apart and reinstalled the coupling.This time I made sure it was flush.Tried it again but now it didn't do anything in rinse or spin cycles.But no burning smell this time.Any help would be appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-29-15, 10:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 264
What's the model number? What do you mean, "it didn't do anything"? Motor running or not? Noise from motor (hum), or all quiet? Does it fill? Drain? More info please.
 
  #3  
Old 06-29-15, 01:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Thanks for replying.I've searched all over for the model number.I only see(under the lid SE 8280869.
When I said "didn't do anything".I meant as far as spinning and rinsing.The motor runs.It fills up and agitates for a few minutes(although the agitator turns full circle) and then everything just stops completely.It doesn't make it to rinse or spin cycles.And it doesn't drain.
Before I replaced the bad motor coupling, it drained but made a loud grinding noise while doing so.
 
  #4  
Old 06-29-15, 02:54 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,272
Likes Received: 9
Model # top number under back of lid (sometimes hard to read) Check your lid switch may be unplugged.
 
  #5  
Old 06-30-15, 08:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
I stuck a screwdriver in the lid switch and it worked in rinse and spin mode.Thanks a million Pugsl.I would have never thought to check the lid switch.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes