Maytag Performa Washer, very loud squeal

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-14-15, 12:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 407
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Maytag Performa Washer, very loud squeal

Hello

I have a Maytag Performa washer, model number as below. We purchased it around 2002.

Recently, it started to squeal during operation. It squeals extremely loudly during the spin cycle and there is a burning rubber smell. I lifted the washer, took the belt off, and rotated each of the pulley assemblies by hand. The one toward the back of the washer with the discharge water hose attached to it does not rotate smoothly (red arrow), but it rotates. The other two pulleys rotate smoothly by hand best I can tell.

So I'm guessing I have to replace the part shown with the red arrow, which also in the middle picture as well (inside the washer view).

A few questions:

1) What is it? Looks like an impeller?
2) How much will it cost me for the part?
3) Can anyone recommend a place where I can purchase the part? In the past I've used repair persons, but it looks like this part may be easy to replace with just a couple of house clamps and a few screws so I want to give it a try at replacement.

Thanks for your help.

Name:  failing part.jpg
Views: 843
Size:  34.4 KB

Name:  failing part inside view.jpg
Views: 470
Size:  37.1 KB

Name:  make and model.jpg
Views: 614
Size:  15.5 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-14-15, 10:10 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 264
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #3  
Old 07-14-15, 11:32 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,414
Received 19 Votes on 18 Posts
Very common part failure on your washer. Remember when you take hose off about 1/2 gallon of water will come out.
 
  #4  
Old 07-15-15, 04:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 407
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Through pugsi, thanks!

When I reattach those hoses to the drain pump, do I have to do anything to make a watertight seal again to the pump, or is friction plus those clamps suffiient?
 
  #5  
Old 07-16-15, 06:20 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,414
Received 19 Votes on 18 Posts
No nothing but put the clamps back on.
 
  #6  
Old 07-16-15, 06:28 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,312
Received 61 Votes on 57 Posts
Yes it's the pump. At least you had noise and a smell to warn you of the pending failure. I had no indication of pump failure. It just stopped the motor from spinning. You can get the pump for as little as $20 from on-line sources. Most over the counter will charge from $50 to $125. It's worth the wait to order on-line.
 
  #7  
Old 07-16-15, 07:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 407
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
..........................Thanks!
 
  #8  
Old 07-16-15, 07:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 407
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, I could have had a flood for sure. I did find the pump on Amazon, surprisingly, for around 30 bucks with a 93% rating of 4 or 5 stars, after I cross checked it against the suggestion above by fairbank.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: