Fridge diagnostic

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-01-16, 02:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fridge diagnostic

When I plug my fridge, it starts making its normal noise for a couple of seconds and then stops.

I checked the ohms on the pins of the compressor, which gives 15, 19 and 26.

Any hint?

Name:  fridge.jpg
Views: 240
Size:  33.5 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-01-16, 03:27 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Is the compressor charged with refrigerant? You could have a bad switch or sensor. Is the "cold" control set to a cooler temperature? Make and model will help us, too.
 
  #3  
Old 05-01-16, 04:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unless there has been a leak, the amount of liquid shouldn't have changed and this fridge was working great till then, but I don't know how to check this.

I tried various temp adjustments to no avail. The problem is that it stops after 5 seconds every time I try to plug it.
If I leave it plugged with a thermometer in it, it just displays the room temperature after several hours.

The model is a "wine cellar" called Fust Novamatic KSWF 501.3 - IB
https://www.fust.ch/fr/p/cuisine/ref...sw-108331.html

Thanks for any help.
 
  #4  
Old 05-01-16, 05:34 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,987
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
Welcome to our forums!

It is likely either a defective compressor or a bad relay that is causing your symptoms.

Some tradespeople would connect a manual "start box" to the compressor to test the start and running of the compressor.
Replacing the relay and overload would be the easiest way to troubleshoot it.
 
  #5  
Old 05-01-16, 09:59 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,608
Received 339 Votes on 317 Posts
The three pins on the compressor are C=common, S=start and R=run windings. Your measurements show no open windings.

There should be two power wires going to the white relay with the arrow. You should measure 220vac there as long as the compressor should be running. That white piece is the starting device and may be defective.

Name:  fridge.jpg
Views: 193
Size:  27.1 KB
 
  #6  
Old 05-01-16, 12:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
When the relay is plugged to the compressor, there's some noise every 5 seconds as if it was "trying" and my multimeter goes down from 230VAC to 220 for a few seconds during these attempts.

I don't know if that means the relay is OK or not.
 

Last edited by dude1x; 05-01-16 at 01:08 PM.
  #7  
Old 05-01-16, 01:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,608
Received 339 Votes on 317 Posts
So far so good. It would be good if you could check for power on those same wires while they are connected to the compressor.

See if the voltage changes when the compressor stops.
 
  #8  
Old 05-01-16, 11:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It switches from 230V when the relay is not "trying" down to between 220 and 224V when it makes it trying noise.

Thanks
 
  #9  
Old 05-01-16, 11:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,608
Received 339 Votes on 317 Posts
You've proven that the thermostat is not at fault since you are not losing power.

If that start device is not defective... then you have an internal compressor problem.
 
  #10  
Old 05-02-16, 07:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's what I thought too.
Thanks for your help!
Much appreciated.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: