Plug for A/C does not fit in socket because of clearance


  #1  
Old 06-04-16, 09:54 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 65
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Plug for A/C does not fit in socket because of clearance

Hi,

I just bought a new Air Conditioner.
The new plug does not fit into the old socket.
The plug prongs match the socket slots and the voltage of the new plug is correct, but the casing of the plug is too large.

Do I need to move the outlet?
Can I extend the prongs somehow?
Can I reorient the outlet?

Thank you!
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 06-04-16, 09:57 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,091
Received 3,423 Upvotes on 3,069 Posts
You can turn power off to that receptacle, pull it out and flip it 180░.
 
  #3  
Old 06-04-16, 11:23 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,757
Received 676 Upvotes on 573 Posts
I can't see the configuration but you could also change it out to a duplex. The top one of a duplex might give you enough clearance. PJmax's option is easier though.
 
  #4  
Old 06-04-16, 11:40 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 65
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Thanks! I flipped it.
.......
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: