Replacing Whirlpool refrigerator's relay ?


  #1  
Old 02-23-17, 09:35 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing Whirlpool refrigerator's relay ?

My Whirlpool fridge (WBE 2212) doesn't start. No sound, no light. I checked the relay part (TY-QZ-108) and i think it might be broken.
Name:  pryoxbdzzhmz6c74j6ir.jpg
Views: 1121
Size:  13.6 KB
Name:  yjzamrvgmpv1szx0imj8.jpg
Views: 1007
Size:  15.6 KB

I hear no unusual sound when i shake the relay, but i checked the resistance between output terminals and they were all like being completely disconnected. So i decide to replace it. BTW, i checked the connections on the compressor with ohm-meter and they were correct.

1- Am i correct about the relay being faulty based on that type of test?

2- Do i need the exact relay model? cause it costs around 30 euro to buy a new one, so is there any other compatible relay model at a lower price?

3- In the market i found variants of that relay as "B50-120","B50-115","B40-105","B32-100" and all are "TY-QZ-108" model but with different prices! I couldn't find this information on the relay part and not sure how important it is!

Thanks!
 

Last edited by bob_hs21; 02-23-17 at 10:27 PM.
  #2  
Old 02-23-17, 10:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,591
Received 1,601 Votes on 1,475 Posts
Welcome to the forums from Europe.

This is predominately a North American based website.

I don't see a sub that's available for replacing that overload relay.
If you have voltage to the relay and the two compressor windings check out normally then the relay is bad.

A typical overload relay is here more than 30 euro (32 usd).

However you said the light is out. What light ? That relay shouldn't affect the light inside the fridge.
 
  #3  
Old 02-23-17, 10:16 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The refrigerator light is off too, But there is voltage to the relay connection. The cables first go to the relay and then distributed to the other parts in the fridge, so i think that's the reason the light inside the fridge is not working too.

I noticed there relays called Universal PTC relay, around 10$ or so, but i'm not sure how useful they are.
 
  #4  
Old 02-23-17, 10:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,591
Received 1,601 Votes on 1,475 Posts
The mains power is just bridged at the relay.

You checked for power. Did you use a an actual voltmeter ?
A non contact pen tester won't work as it cannot measure a missing neutral which sounds like may be your problem.
 
  #5  
Old 02-23-17, 11:25 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You are right, the power is bridged. But i checked the voltages with an actual voltmeter and there is 220v on relay terminals. So how can it be that both the fridge light and the compressor are off but we have power to the relay?
 
  #6  
Old 02-24-17, 12:04 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,591
Received 1,601 Votes on 1,475 Posts
Is there a wiring diagram on the fridge ?
If you can find one take a picture and post it here.

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html
 
  #7  
Old 02-25-17, 04:40 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I couldn't find any wiring diagram on the fridge nor any detailed catalog related to this model (WBE 2212). But i opened a circuit panel on the back (top) of the fridge containing this board.
Name:  DSC_0189.jpg
Views: 812
Size:  36.3 KB

BTW, I rotated the image 180 deg!
Also somehow smelt like burnt plastic, but not so sure about it!
do you think possible to diagnose the board or may it have anything to do with the whole problem?
 

Last edited by bob_hs21; 02-25-17 at 05:19 AM.
  #8  
Old 02-25-17, 07:41 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
If there is a kick plate on bottom there usually is a tech sheet someplace behind it or stuck in slots.
 
  #9  
Old 02-25-17, 04:43 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tried my best, but couldn't find any tech sheet there, maybe i need to open the back of the fridge.
Anyway, i checked that board, as it has 220v on its input connectors but there is no voltage on its outputs. I checked the Gnd and +5v pins.
BTW, i checked the output of these 2 power relays (hf152f/012-1ht) and (jzc-32f/012-HS) and there was no voltage on their outputs, but they both had AC voltages on the input pins. I tested that in both cases of having all output cables connected and disconnected from the board and the result was the same!
Name:  DSC_0197S.jpg
Views: 752
Size:  20.0 KB
 
  #10  
Old 02-25-17, 05:02 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,591
Received 1,601 Votes on 1,475 Posts
If the fridge isn't running...... there won't be any output from the relays.
I cannot find any listing or any info on that control board.

Those two relays are probably compressor and defrost heater.

Without some type of connection diagram I can't be of much help.
 
  #11  
Old 03-03-17, 03:16 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do you think if i ask the manufacturer (Whirlpool) they would send me a wiring diagram file?
 
  #12  
Old 03-03-17, 07:42 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,591
Received 1,601 Votes on 1,475 Posts
Usually you can buy a service manual but I can't find one for sale for your appliance.
You could certainly check with Whirlpool for a diagram.
 
  #13  
Old 03-03-17, 07:57 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was imagining what if i take it to a repair-shop? How would they fix it? do they always need the diagrams or they can find their own way through it?
 
  #14  
Old 03-03-17, 08:11 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,591
Received 1,601 Votes on 1,475 Posts
A repair shop would have the wiring and should be pretty knowledgeable in the wiring.
 
  #15  
Old 03-04-17, 03:26 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok! BTW, what about Freon leakage possibility? Imagining the compressor is out of any Freon, it still shouldn't cut off the power from the internal parts, e.g. the fridge's lamp, am i right?
or is it possible that the circuit board is designed such if the compressor can't work the fridge shuts off completely?
 
  #16  
Old 03-04-17, 08:15 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,591
Received 1,601 Votes on 1,475 Posts
You would hear the compressor humming and the lights and fan(s) would still work.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: