Kenmore washer overflows

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-25-17, 07:01 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Kenmore washer overflows

I have a Kenmore washer/dryer stacked, model 110987522796. The washer overflows ONLY when filling for the rinse cycle, after it has completed the wash cycle. Drain hoses are well connected and no obstructions or leaks. I have checked the water level pressure hose, which is not clogged or leaking air and is well connected at both ends. The water level pressure switch could be the problem but my knowledge of electronics is limited. Why would the switch work for the initial wash cycle ,but not the rinse cycle? Are there other possibilities that could be causing the problem?
Thanks for your consideration,
-Sean
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-25-17, 08:51 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 785
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Could firmware be involved? I don't know how old that model is but these days appliances are computerized to one level or another.
 
  #3  
Old 07-25-17, 12:11 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,798
Received 50 Votes on 46 Posts
Pretty basic pressure switch on your washer. Right off hand can't think of any reason for overfill except pressure switch. Rinse is only cold water see if cold shuts off. Try filling with only cold and see if water stops.
Off subject but common for your washer have you had to replace the shocks yet. Very common problem with that washer.
 
  #4  
Old 07-25-17, 02:08 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's not computerized.
, but thanks for the input.
 
  #5  
Old 07-25-17, 02:14 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Will try the cold water idea, but doesn't the water level switch work the same regardless of water temperature? What would cause the cold water rinse to behave differently?

Not aware of any shocks problem.
 
  #6  
Old 07-25-17, 03:46 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,798
Received 50 Votes on 46 Posts
Just a guess on cold water, Rinse uses only cold while most wash loads use both cold and hot. If cold valve sticking open might cause problem. I know of no reason only floods on rinse, Have never heard of this in many years of washer repair.
You will know if shocks break. Tub will lean to side and shake very bad.
 
  #7  
Old 07-25-17, 05:04 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Pugsl.
About the pressure switch...
Is there any method of testing the efficacy of the pressure switch?
What about the possibility of a problem with the timer stalling when filling for the rinse cycle?
 
  #8  
Old 07-26-17, 04:08 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,798
Received 50 Votes on 46 Posts
Even if timer stalled in fill cycle the pressure switch should shut off water. I don't have wiring diagram but I think you will find circuit goes from timer through pressure switch to fill valves.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: