Trouble understanding my refrigerator type

Old 12-01-17, 03:15 AM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Trouble understanding my refrigerator type

Hi Guys,

I am a noob here, so pardon me if I haven't introduced myself in a section where I was suppose to do that first. I am from Melbourne, Australia & I am having trouble with few things about my fridge.
Before, I post a separate thread about my issues with it, I thought I might start with a slightly simpler thread
to get some advice to find out whether DIY'ing this fridge is beyond my scope of not.

I have uploaded below pictures. Basically, the setup of my refrigerator's freezer & fridge is not consistent with what I have been watching so far about how the two are inter related.

As in below pictures, mine appears to have a separate evaporator for the fridge compartment than channelling the cold air from the freezer compartment using a fan(freezer it at top with a separate door.

The brand is Fisher & Paykel, and I'm not sure what the model number is, but it is around ten years or so old with two door, & the top door being the freezer one. And it's around 350 litre in capacity.

There is a small hole from the freezer compartment at the bottom of the freezer evaporator that opens to the fridge compartment. I looks like a one to direct warm air from the defrost heater in the fridge compartment to the freezer & to drain the defrosted water from the freezer into the fridge compartment and then to the bottom of the fridge(which is directed to outside from a small hole onto a tray outside the fridge at the back of it).

I can't see any defrost heaters on the freezer evaporator(see photos).

The fan on the freezer compartment blows air from behind the evaporator into the front storage area of the freezer(not the other way around). So, I have my doubts whether the freezer air get into the fridge compartment much, but I suspect it does through that small hole I described above, but not in a major way.