Freezer to fridge conversion

Old 12-02-17, 02:31 AM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Freezer to fridge conversion

Hi Guys,

I'm a noob here from Melbourne, Australia.

I've been having issues with the fridge compartment of my refrigerator which hasn't been working for few days & I am not sure whether it is repairable at this stage.

I have a 200 litre chest freezer(spare one) that has been given to me and I have started using the freezer as a temporary fridge as an interim solution. I've looked into freezer to fridge conversion kits which I think basically nothing more than fitting a fridge thermostat in series with the compressor live wire.
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/261040642198?ssPageName=STRK:MESINDXX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1436.l2649
However, I have been able to simulate a similar thing using an ordinary wall plug mechanical 24 hour timer which I set to run every couple of hours for few minutes and the temperature stays around 4 degrees celsius or so(I use a thermometer to keep an eye, but since I got the 'programming' right to keep the right temperature all the time, it works ok).

My question is,
I don't have to convert it properly by fitting in the above thermostat do I??!!
I find it bit too much work when I can do a similar thing without a precise temperature controlling thermostat.

Of course, if I decide to keep the chest freezer as a fridge, then I can use the above thermostat or use a temperature controller. I think temperature controllers are better because I can wire up a buzzer to alarm & alert me if the temperature somehow drops below healthy level due to some failure of the fridge/freezer.

Thanking you in advance for any advice.

Last edited by DIYfly; 12-02-17 at 03:46 AM. Reason: grammar
Sponsored Links
Old 12-02-17, 02:37 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
That is what a thermostat does is shut the power off, If a timer works fr you why not keep using it.

Old 12-02-17, 03:50 AM
D
Thank you.