Any other simple troubleshooting before replacing?


  #1  
Old 03-21-18, 06:19 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,304
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Any other simple troubleshooting before replacing?

I have an Amana top loading clothes washing machine purchased in 2013. My clothes are still soaked at the end of the wash cycle. So I believe the high speed spin cycle does not work anymore. I made sure the drain hose was not clogged and I don't see any obstruction under the agitator. Is there any other simple troubleshooting I can do before replacing? It's a cheapo washing machine and not worth a service call
 
  #2  
Old 03-21-18, 10:33 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Post model # so we can see which machine you have. Lot of different washers out there.
 
  #3  
Old 03-21-18, 01:20 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,304
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Ok. I'll post it tonight. The original invoice only has an SKU#. I'll get a part number from the appliance itself.
 
  #4  
Old 03-21-18, 08:05 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,304
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Ok It's Amana top loading model# NTW4630YQ0.

And serial# C33420138
 
  #5  
Old 03-22-18, 03:45 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Several easy repairs on tht washer. 1 is a free one. Lean washer back against wall ad remove the plastic cover over main pulley. See if the center nut is tight. If it is loose take it off ans put loctie on it and reinstall.Next you need to find tech sheet (I think if is in a plastic bag taped to front panel) To get to it there are 2 1/4 screws in the hinge in back that needs to come out. slide top forward a little to clear hooks and lift top. Read codes , shiftier is next usual problem.
PS That is a Whirlpool machine with a Amana name hung on it.
 
  #6  
Old 03-22-18, 07:31 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,304
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
So this plastic cover over main pulley is accessed at the bottom of the machine?
 
  #7  
Old 03-22-18, 07:54 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Yes just lean against wall. 3 5/16 screws hold it on. .
 
  #8  
Old 03-22-18, 08:52 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,304
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Cool. I can do this Friday night or Saturday. Busy with work and all,

I'm not sure what you mean with the tech sheet and codes.
 
  #9  
Old 03-22-18, 11:34 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
The tech sheet has all the diagnostics and there codes. Your washer is computer controlled so sheet is needed to read codes. The sheet for your washer is more like a book.
 
  #10  
Old 03-22-18, 01:47 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,304
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Ok. My machine is a simple design and does not have a digital readout to view codes. I believe you have to get the indicator lights to flash a sequence to make a code for my model. I can at least check the pulley center nut later this evening.
 
  #11  
Old 03-22-18, 09:09 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,304
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Ok. The center pulley nut is tight. In fact, I could see thread locker blue on the bolt from the factory. The electrical connections underneath are all intact.

I also removed the rear metal panel. There isn't any tech sheet or label inside. This is a bare bones model that doesn't have a digital readout for codes also. How do i get machine to generate a code and where do I get tech sheet?
 
  #12  
Old 03-23-18, 03:34 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
//////You have a later washer that was fixed before shipping. Tach sheet is taped to the front panel inside. You have to remove 0000( 2) 1/4 sheet metal screws in hinge in back. Slide top forward about 1/2 inch and lift front of top. Tech sheet is taped in plastic bag on left side.
I hope you just removed console back and not the back of washer. Been a while since I looked a a tech sheet for your unit but I think page 4 or 5 bottom right corner there are instrustions on how to read codes. Will be a series of light blinks.
 
  #13  
Old 03-23-18, 07:41 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,304
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Not sure I understand. I remove that little rear panel but the tech sheet is taped to the front? I also unbolted the larger rear metal panel and pulled it back some to look inside.

What do you mean front panel........................facing the control console?

I looked all inside the cabinet including from underneath when I checked the pulley mounting bolt. I didn't see anything. I'll try again tonight.
 
  #14  
Old 03-23-18, 10:43 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Front panel ( front of washer) Lift top like I said and in front between tub and front. Not the easiest one to get to but no more than 5 minutes. Only 2 screws to take out.
 
  #15  
Old 03-23-18, 11:16 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,304
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Ahh................I mistakenly removed the silver metal panel on the rear side of machine. Ok. I'll try it again tonight and report back this weekend.
 
  #16  
Old 03-23-18, 09:45 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,304
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Ok. I found the tech booklet. I was unable to activate the diagnostic test modes. So according to the instructions, I removed the console and tested the main control board pin outs with a multi-meter. I also made sure connections were not loose. I narrowed it down to two possible faults:

1. short in harness between main control and shifter assembly.
OR
2. bad shifter assembly

How do I check for short in harness with my multi-meter? What resistance range setting would I use? I don't think probe leads are long enough to touch opposite wire ends. I'm still fairly new at using multi meter.

(Also. I only paid $299 for the washing machine. How much is a shifter assembly if that is what the problem turns out to be)
 

Last edited by bluesbreaker; 03-23-18 at 10:45 PM.
  #17  
Old 03-24-18, 04:00 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Been several tears since I have retired. I have never seen a bad harness on that machine. Could happen I guess. Here is the part # of shifter (called actuator) . W10006355 Google this # as I found them from around 20 to 70$.
Also a video of how to change it. I think there are 1 or 2 screws that hold it on.
 
  #18  
Old 03-24-18, 09:27 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,304
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Hmmm.......... It's such a cheap washing machine It might be better to replace it. Let me think about it and I'll get back. I'll do some part pricing online too.
 
  #19  
Old 03-24-18, 05:55 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,304
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I ordered a replacement washing machine today. I figured this cheap model wasn't worth repairing since its other parts could fail later. But your responses were helpful anyway. I know something now about troubleshooting washing machines and multimeter use. And in the future, it could be worthwhile for me to repair a washing machine. Thanks.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: