Beverage Air Commercial "Coke" Fridge Compressor Clicking

Old 08-28-18, 05:51 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Beverage Air Commercial "Coke" Fridge Compressor Clicking

For reference, this is the fridge (double sided commercial sliding door Coke fridge) :

Beverage-Air Mini Fridge Compressor Always Running?

This morning I noticed a higher temp inside and the unit clicking every 30 seconds or so. Quickly realized this is the compressor attempting to fire and not firing.

I have no experience fixing appliances so unless there's something easy to try it sounds like I'll need to find someone to make a house call, just wanted to first check if there were any suggestions that any of the experts here might have that I could try (unplugging it for a while or something?) to get it to fire.

Everything looks good underneath, some dust but not clogged up, I don't see any ice or anything obvious looking under the unit where everything else below the doors there.

Thanks all.

Old 08-28-18, 09:45 AM
Group Moderator
Received 2,955 Votes on 2,666 Posts
The compressor will have an overload/start relay attached to the side or top of it.
That sounds like it needs replacement.

Old 08-28-18, 10:45 AM
B
Thanks for the reply. Sounds like the job for a pro. Iím just hoping itís not a bad compressor. It was keeping cold and running fine 12 hours ago so hopefully you are on the mark here.

Old 08-28-18, 11:04 AM
Group Moderator
If you can get to the compressor..... get the part number off of it or take a picture of the tag and post it.

Old 08-28-18, 08:54 PM
B
I'll see how close I can get to it tomorrow. I unloaded most of the contents today on my lunch break, then came home after work to find the compressor running. Do you believe that? So now I'm not sure what to do. Going to give it another day or two before I move anything back.