water filter 4396508 broke off in refrigerator; can't get broken piece out

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-29-19, 01:39 PM
eddieo45's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milton, MA
Posts: 288
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
water filter 4396508 broke off in refrigerator; can't get broken piece out

Not sure how or why this happened, but I opened a shut-off that feeds an outdoor hose. I go upstairs and water is gushing out of the refrigerator bottom. I ran downstairs to shut off the shut-off I had just opened, but the refrigerator water shut off in before it in the line, so I shut off the water to the fridge. Turns out the water filter cracked near the end that sticks into the fridge and I can't figure out how I'll get the broken piece out....
 
Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-29-19, 05:58 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,481
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
Please give make and model # of fridge, you gave number of filter does not help us.
 
  #3  
Old 07-29-19, 06:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,234
Received 380 Votes on 357 Posts
I think that's a Kenmore/Whirlpool fridge. You'll need to get something to span across the small end of the filter. The first thing that come to mind is a sharp chisel.

Name:  IMG_2648.jpg
Views: 39
Size:  19.1 KB
 
  #4  
Old 07-30-19, 05:39 AM
eddieo45's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milton, MA
Posts: 288
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You'll need to get something to span across the small end of the filter. The first thing that come to mind is a sharp chisel.
I was thinking a long spade drill bit, and assuming that a quarter turn left should release it....
 
  #5  
Old 07-30-19, 05:53 AM
eddieo45's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milton, MA
Posts: 288
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Please give make and model # of fridge, you gave number of filter does not help us.
I think that's a Kenmore/Whirlpool fridge.
It's a Whirlpool build sold as Kitchenaid. Filter goes in the front bottom, under the side-by-side freezer. I can't figure out how opening the hose shutoff factors into this but it would be a strange coincidence otherwise. You would think that opening a shutoff farther down the line would, if anything, LESSEN pressure in the fridge line. I've had this fridge about 20 years and changed the filter a dozen times at least....never had one break before.
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 08-12-19, 03:00 PM
eddieo45's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milton, MA
Posts: 288
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A long spade bit in a hand-driver did the trick, quarter turn to the left to get it out. Here's what the broken filter looked like.

Moral of the story: the filters are recommended to be changed every 6 months, and that's not just because of the filtering ability. There's a warning on the side that says they may fail if left in too long, as mine did. In my defense I have a whole-house water filter so the water through the door continued to taste great long after the filter "expired", but in retrospect, 4 years (!!) was way too long....
 
Attached Images   
  #7  
Old 08-12-19, 03:28 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,499
Received 77 Votes on 71 Posts
I have similar problem. I cannot remove the old filter. I've tried everything short of forcing and breaking the unit. This fridge is fairly new, so I'm leaving it alone. And I use to change the filter regularly until this particular unit won't budge.
 
eddieo45 voted this post useful.
  #8  
Old 08-12-19, 03:34 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 21,072
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
Thanks for the warning. My fridge is fed RO filtered water so I've never changed the filter. Looks like I should never try.
 
eddieo45 voted this post useful.
  #9  
Old 08-12-19, 05:45 PM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 4,489
Received 112 Votes on 103 Posts
FYI, if your not using the filters you can purchase a bypass plug that replaces the filter.

If you leave the filter in it could plug up some day!
 
Pilot Dane voted this post useful.
  #10  
Old 08-13-19, 05:50 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 21,072
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
Oh, thank you. I'll have to look for a plug for my fridge.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: