Kenmore Freezer Stops until power cycle

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-17-19, 01:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Kenmore Freezer Stops until power cycle

Greetings,

We have a Kenmore 253.28432800, about 11 years now. It has the digital coldness setting on the door. Recently it has quit running a few times, the display goes blank or to "0", and the only way to get it going again is to unplug it and plug it back in (no significant delay required). I'm guessing the display/controller needs to be replaced, but is there any way to test it to confirm this?

Thanks,
-Brad
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-21-19, 04:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I bought a new controller, $90. It was stupid-simple to install, popped the old one off with a putty knife and the new one plugged right in, took about 2 minutes. It's been working for almost two days now, hopefully this takes care of it. I generally don't like throwing money at a problem without more proof of the issue, but the amount of time and money invested in the contents of this freezer made this decision an easy one.
 
  #3  
Old 08-21-19, 10:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,849
Received 255 Votes on 240 Posts
Good move. You chose the correct part for that problem. Name:  thumb.jpg
Views: 9
Size:  1.6 KB
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: