Novice DIYer need help troubleshooting GE dishwasher that won't start

Old 09-11-19, 05:28 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Novice DIYer need help troubleshooting GE dishwasher that won't start

Hi all,

Note that I have no prior experience troubleshooting electric appliances. So looking forward to learn.

I have a GE dishwasher (model GDF510PSD0SS) which won't start. It worked well yesterday but today there are no lights on the control panel and none of the controls seem to respond.

I've already checked a few things:
  • The fuse box looks OK and the dishwasher's breaker did not trip.
  • The door is properly closed all the way into the door latch.
I'm equipped with a multi-meter but would need help knowing:
  • Which parts to test
  • How to test them
I'm attaching a picture of the unit for info.

Any help is welcome!

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 09-12-19, 03:35 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 21 Votes on 20 Posts
Before you start anything with electronic items it is always best to shut breaker off or unplug first. Leave breaker or item unplugged about 30 seconds and turn back on. This will reset electronics. Try DW and see if it turns on now.
If DW does not work turn breaker off and Remove kick plate. You will see a place where electrical wires go in a small box. Takeoff cover and remove wire nut from black wire. Make sure wire is not touching anything, Leave wires connected, turn breaker back on. Set your meter to A/C volts, touch black wire with probe and other probe to bare wire. You should get a reading of 120 volts. If you do the DW people will be in later to help further.Shut breaker off tll they come in.

Old 09-12-19, 04:07 PM
Question

Hi pugsl - Thanks for responding, I just tried to follow these steps and I got a reading of 60.8. Since it's not 120 I want to make sure I did the steps right.