Hobart model CK 50 commercial deep fryer


  #1  
Old 12-07-19, 07:25 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hobart model CK 50 commercial deep fryer

Can this be converted to single phase 220 economically?
 
  #2  
Old 12-07-19, 08:57 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,282
Received 441 Votes on 367 Posts
Not likely if it is currently 3 phase.
Do you have a wiring diagram? They are often on one of the panels when you remove them.
 
  #3  
Old 12-07-19, 10:37 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,962
Received 595 Votes on 511 Posts
If it has any motors, then changing it to single-phase will likely be expensive (Changing the motors or adding a phase converter)

If it is just a bunch of heating elements then it might be possible to convert it over. I recall rewiring a commercial oven from three-phase to single-phase only took moving a few wires around. I did have to call the manufacture though.
 
  #4  
Old 12-07-19, 06:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,045
Received 2,949 Votes on 2,662 Posts
That's a two basket drop-in fryer. Uses a 3 phase contactor to switch the elements.
Wiring diagrams can be tough to find if you don't have it.

The biggest problem is that unit uses three elements to heat the unit. Each element is on a phase. Connecting them all together for single phase operation will yield an extremely high current requirement. Will probably be too high for home use.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-07-19 at 06:33 PM.
  #5  
Old 12-08-19, 04:37 AM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 1,055
Received 62 Votes on 58 Posts
I found a wiring diagram Here the diagrams start on page 8 of the PDF file
 
PJmax voted this post useful.
  #6  
Old 12-08-19, 05:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,045
Received 2,949 Votes on 2,662 Posts
Nice find CircuitBreaker.

Here's the problem...... there are three heating elements. Each one runs on a phase. In order to convert that unit to single phase...... you'd need to run all three elements on one phase. You need to determine what wattage those heaters are. All three may be too large for a single circuit.

What is the three phase amperage on the ID plate ?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: