Whirlpool fridge/freezer LED light question

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-24-20, 03:28 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 142
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Whirlpool fridge/freezer LED light question

I just replaced the freezer light in my Whirlpool side-by-side, WRS322FDAW00. What the product page showed was this:

which is what the original looked like. What I received, however, looks the image below. Is this a design change, or did they send me a knockoff? It works, but I don't want to pay for a knockoff advertised as OEM.
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-24-20, 03:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,267
Received 603 Votes on 568 Posts
Those are the same exact board. The top picture has no components on it so it will do nothing.
The second picture has all the support components on it.
 
  #3  
Old 02-24-20, 03:44 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 142
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
But the first picture is what the original looked like, and it worked until it died a couple of months ago--I'd presumed all the work was done by ICs rather than capacitors, etc. Other pics of the board show the same as below (the original I just removed); e.g.,
https://www.appliancepartspros.com/w...ap6022533.html
(second pic)
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 02-24-20, 03:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,267
Received 603 Votes on 568 Posts
My mistake..... they are not the same board.
The W10398007 is a low voltage module. Its replacement can be the WPW10515057
The second picture is the dual voltage version of the light. 120v and low voltage.
 
  #5  
Old 02-24-20, 04:21 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 142
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Should I return it, or is an acceptable replacement?
 
  #6  
Old 02-24-20, 06:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,267
Received 603 Votes on 568 Posts
It's perfectly acceptable.
I didn't look up the prices but it could be slightly higher than the low voltage only board.
 
vanderdecker voted this post useful.
  #7  
Old 02-25-20, 03:35 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 142
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK, thanks. Since it didn't even look like the retailer's product page I was concerned that they'd send a cheap knock-off.

Is there any reason they have a different version of the same part (dual voltage)?
 

Last edited by vanderdecker; 02-25-20 at 04:28 AM.
  #8  
Old 02-25-20, 09:05 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,267
Received 603 Votes on 568 Posts
Usually when they do that it's so a tech only needs to carry the one part for multiple applications.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: