Fishy Smell with New Maytag Dishwasher


  #1  
Old 04-25-20, 07:37 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 39
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fishy Smell with New Maytag Dishwasher

So I had a new Maytag dishwasher installed on March 23 and started noticing a fishy smell inside the stainless tub and on my freshly washed dishes. I started researching possible causes and learned about how the drain hose needs a high loop in the sink cabinet or an air gap.

Please see photo of my hose routing under the sink. Is this properly installed?

I appreciate the help in advance.

Grant
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 04-25-20, 08:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,130
Received 2,965 Votes on 2,675 Posts
Your correct in that it does need a high loop. It's that low loop that is the problem.
You may need to shorten that hose to eliminate that lower loop.

Name:  DDW.jpg
Views: 188
Size:  15.7 KB
 
Norm201 voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 04-26-20, 03:13 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,936
Received 235 Votes on 213 Posts
Is it pumping all the water out of the tub?

Open the door and check/clean the front lip of the tub, stuff likes to grow there.

Start a just rinse cycle, after it fill add a cup of vinegar, let it spray for a bit then open the door a bit so it stops and let it sit for 20 minutes or so.
Then shut the door let it spray for a bit and then let it sit again for a while.
Then let it complete the cycle.

Would also not hurt to pour a cup of vinegar into the garbage disposal and let it sit.
 
  #4  
Old 04-26-20, 04:08 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,417
Received 594 Votes on 531 Posts
PJ is correct. Who installed this unit? The delivery people or yourself? The directions and installation manual should be quit clear about how the drain hose is routed.
 
  #5  
Old 04-26-20, 04:22 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Look care fully it has a high loop It goes through the back of cabinet near top. I would still shorten the drain hose and make sure there is not a lot of slack under or behind DW.
 
  #6  
Old 04-26-20, 09:38 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,130
Received 2,965 Votes on 2,675 Posts
Yes.... it does have a high loop but it's that low loop that is defeating the purpose.
You don't want water to be trapped in the drain hose.
It's bad enough getting a small amount back in the sump.
 
  #7  
Old 04-26-20, 11:01 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 39
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Norm, the flooring company installed out because my old dishwasher leaked all over my kitchen. Had water damage and whatnot.

Can I simply cut the hose shorter and reuse the fitting at the disposer?
 
  #8  
Old 04-26-20, 11:35 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,417
Received 594 Votes on 531 Posts
Yes, as long as long as the loop is above your sink trap. I believe if you read your manual it will give a minimum height to where that loop must be.
 
  #9  
Old 04-26-20, 02:33 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,936
Received 235 Votes on 213 Posts
As far as I know the fittings at the end of the drain line are molded as part of the drain line so cannot be cut off.

I am not that concerned about the large loop.
Would be nicer if it was shorter and more direct but it is what it is.

Many new dishwashers have a backflow valve so that drain water does not drain/siphon back into the unit.
 
  #10  
Old 04-27-20, 08:54 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 39
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is the drain hose from under the dishwasher. It runs up the side of the tub and over top before coming out the upper side of the cabinet as seen in my first photo.

The hose is full of water but it looks like there is a valve at the sump that controls flow direction. Also there is water right at where the drain hose fitting attaches top the garbage disposer. So it seems that the entire length of hose has water in it.
 
Attached Images  
  #11  
Old 04-27-20, 09:24 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,417
Received 594 Votes on 531 Posts
It really shouldn't matter how much slack there is in the hose. Just stuff the slack behind the washer. Do GOOGLE for dishwasher drain hose (images) and you'll se all kinds. Some are made to be cut with adapters.
 
  #12  
Old 05-04-20, 12:22 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 39
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just stuffed as much of these hose back there as I could. The loop height is just above the sink trap. It seems to be helping but not sure why. The hose is still full of water
 
  #13  
Old 05-04-20, 01:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,130
Received 2,965 Votes on 2,675 Posts
Here's what's happening..... with the way your hose was..... it would stay full of water/discharge from the disposer right up to the high loop. When the disposer filled up.... the water would flow into the hose and get forced back into the dishwasher. When you have the correct high loop.... the loop is full of air and the disposer overflow can not get that high.

Backflow valves were mentioned inside the dishwasher...... some have one but most don't.
From your description.... yours does not have it.
 
  #14  
Old 05-05-20, 06:15 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 39
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is that gray piece just before the hose a drain pump and not a one-way valve?

So you're saying that the water from my garbage disposer is flowing up the high loop. It's about 35" off the floor. I would think the water would flow down to the lowest point of the loop and stay there?
 
  #15  
Old 05-05-20, 06:45 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,936
Received 235 Votes on 213 Posts
What is the model number?
Should be able to tell by looking at a parts breakdown if there is a valve in the grain line.

My guess is that there is a valve as the drain hose is staying full of water.
A model number may confirm this.
 
  #16  
Old 05-07-20, 06:58 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 39
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Model number is MDB4949SHZ.
 
  #17  
Old 05-07-20, 07:45 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,936
Received 235 Votes on 213 Posts
Looked up the unit at the Sears parts site and there does not seem to be a check valve.

Looks like the drain hose already loops up on the side of the unit.
 
  #18  
Old 05-07-20, 04:17 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 39
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is it normal to have water in the drain hose like my second pic shows?
 
  #19  
Old 05-08-20, 01:57 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Yes there is water in drain hose. Water will pump out until DW is empty, There will be some water left in hose. Should be the last drain cycle left there so basically clean water.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: