Frigidaire Gallery now making ice cubes too large


  #1  
Old 05-10-20, 04:49 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 200
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Frigidaire Gallery now making ice cubes too large

After a remodel of our kitchen which involved moving the fridge, and a new supply line, the ice is apparently too large to fit thought the shoot in the door and is constantly hanging up in the funnel part inside the door. It never once did this before the remodel. The only thing that makes sense is that the new supply line, or cut off valve is allowing more water into the ice maker during the fill cycle than before. I have looked and can see no adjustment for this, other than turning the cut off valve to the point of restricting the water.
Oh, I did replace the filter after the move since there was new plumbing involved and I figured it was time for a change.
Does anyone have any suggestions? Am I missing something more obvious?
Thank you in advance.
 
  #2  
Old 05-10-20, 04:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,190
Received 2,982 Votes on 2,690 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The level of the ice is not controlled by pressure.
It's strictly a timed process. Many ice makers can be adjusted for a shorter fill.
A model number would be needed.
 
  #3  
Old 05-10-20, 05:08 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 200
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
FGHS2631PF4A

If there is an adjustment for it I can't find it, but that doesn't mean it's not there.
 
  #4  
Old 05-10-20, 06:00 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 200
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I finally found how to adjust it, it is on the tech data sheet.
Now I can adjust it, but that doesn't explain why it changed.
 
  #5  
Old 05-11-20, 12:04 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
More pressure will increase flow. The timing did not change buy your flow amount did.
 
  #6  
Old 05-11-20, 11:35 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,190
Received 2,982 Votes on 2,690 Posts
Your larger/new supply line and valve may be supplying more pressure that before.
There isn't any way of adjusting the pressure inside the fridge.
It's not uncommon to have to adjust the fill time slightly.
 
  #7  
Old 05-11-20, 05:19 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 200
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thanks for the reply guys.
I've turned it down about 20% and we will see how they look but I'm sure this fixed my problem.
I'm sure the plumbing I have to it now is providing more pressure/flow than the old plumbing.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: