Three prong stove outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-19-20, 04:38 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Woodstock
Posts: 134
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Three prong stove outlet

Tonight there was a buzz, a flash of light and smoke from my range in the middle of making dinner. I'm sure that the range is dead. I unplugged it and flipped the breaker back on and it didn't flip back off, so I'm guessing it was a stove problem not an electrical problem. However, I want to test the outlet to make sure there's no voltage problems etc. What all do I need to check before I go buy a new range, plug it in, and blow it up too?
Should I plug the range back in and see what happens?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-19-20, 05:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,077
Received 1,110 Votes on 1,030 Posts
If you have an electric range...... most likely it's a shorted element. I don't recommend plugging it back in to try it but if you do...... turn the breaker off..... put the plug in and turn the breaker back on. You don't want to plug something in with a possible short issue.
 
  #3  
Old 09-19-20, 06:28 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Woodstock
Posts: 134
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oven is a Samsung Model #NE59J3421SS. The culprit appears to be a wire on the element. Not sure how expensive/difficult it would be to replace



 

Last edited by PJmax; 09-19-20 at 07:20 PM. Reason: moved thread/resized pics
  #4  
Old 09-19-20, 07:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,077
Received 1,110 Votes on 1,030 Posts
A fairly common problem. The end broke off the element.
It may have been weakened during installation.

The bake element is part # DG47-00038B. You can search using that part number. amazon has them too. Shop around for prices and/or guarantee. It's listed in the "main assembly" tab in the parts views. It's only held in with two screws..... one at each end. If that terminal is damaged.... you may have to crimp on a new one.

Exploded parts views




Please be careful..... unplug the range before working on the element. If you want to use the stove while ordering the element..... the element wire ends must be insulated.
 
hmhill17 voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 09-19-20, 09:14 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Woodstock
Posts: 134
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
They actually have that part at a place somewhat near me so I may just drive out there Monday morning when they open.

Luckily, I have a gas burner and various other cooking options. Though I'm tempted to plug it in and see what happens with just the stove top.
 
  #6  
Old 09-20-20, 02:38 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Before you plug it in be sure to tape that end so it doesn't it something.
 
  #7  
Old 09-22-20, 04:34 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Woodstock
Posts: 134
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think I found the problem.

Got the new one today and swapped it out. Took 15-20 minutes. The convection fan stopped working again, so I have a bad feeling about that one.

Thanks @pjmax for all the information and help.


 
  #8  
Old 09-22-20, 04:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,077
Received 1,110 Votes on 1,030 Posts
convection fan stopped working again
Some ranges do seem to have problems with the convection fan failing prematurely.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: