Coca cola frigoglass not cooling

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-28-20, 07:18 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Coca cola frigoglass not cooling

I have a frigoglass coca cola refrigerator I just picked up and it is not cooling. I plugged in the frig and the compressor turned on and then the refrigerant cooling fan. However, when I check inside the refrigerator it does not cool. After running for a while the condenser was warm to the touch, but not hot. The cooling line was cool, but not cold. After unplugging it felt like the coolant line got colder. Inside the refrigerator is where the thermostat is located. I have turned it off and then changed to the coldest setting without any change.

i am finding it hard for anyone to look at this fridge as it is considered a commercial fridge, even though it has similar internals as a normal fridge.

any ideas what it could be? I was wonder if the thermostat is the problem, but not sure how to test.

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-28-20, 07:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,078
Received 1,110 Votes on 1,030 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The thermostat turns the compressor and condenser fan on.
You said those are working. That means the thermostat is working.

There are two copper lines on the compressor.
The larger one will get ice cold and the smaller one will get warm/hot.
If the compressor is running and the larger line is not ice cold..... the system is low on refrigerant.
That would mean there's a leak in the sealed system.
 
  #3  
Old 09-28-20, 07:55 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the quick reply. So one of the copper line stays almost at room temp and the other line gets cool, but not cold. I notice this line gets colder once unplugged. Looking at the copper lines there does not appear to be a valve to be able to recharge the refrigerant. It appears to be a sealed unit. Does this mean I would need to buy a new condenser?
 
  #4  
Old 09-28-20, 08:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,078
Received 1,110 Votes on 1,030 Posts
The units are charged in a factory and the charge tubes are brazed/pinched shut.
Some techs will add a tap on the pipe but if the leak isn't found.... it's pretty useless.
 
  #5  
Old 09-29-20, 08:34 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the insight. Is there any other way to test for a leak or will the only way be to install a tap valve?
 
  #6  
Old 09-29-20, 08:51 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,078
Received 1,110 Votes on 1,030 Posts
One method is to charge the system with nitrogen. Using a soapy solution.... the leak will bubble.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: