Bosch Dishwasher - water pooling


  #1  
Old 01-07-22, 06:54 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 584
Received 5 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Bosch Dishwasher - water pooling

We have a Bosch Dishwasher (shp65tl5uc) that runs fine. My wife notices everything and noticed there's water pooling at the bottom drain. Not sure but we're thinking should this always drain completely or is this expected? I'll upload a picture from my phone below. thanks in advance!



 
  #2  
Old 01-07-22, 07:07 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 143
Received 34 Upvotes on 31 Posts
I have a Bosch and noticed the same thing when I clean the filter. I don't think it's anything to worry about. As long as the water isn't coming up into the tub then it's draining properly and the remaining water is probably just what runs back down the tube when the pump shuts off.

BTW, I hate my Bosch dishwasher. It cleans well, but the rack layouts are terrible - doesn't hold nearly as many dishes as my previous Kenmore and KitchenAid models. I thought I'd get used to it or figure out better ways to load my dishes, but it's been 6 months or more and I still curse it every night. I also think it feels flimsy overall compared to the other brands I've owned.
 
  #3  
Old 01-07-22, 08:14 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,646
Received 4,089 Upvotes on 3,672 Posts
Most dishwashers need their drain line to be fastened up high under the countertop
to reduce flow back into the dishwasher.

 
  #4  
Old 01-11-22, 12:44 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 584
Received 5 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Thanks all! Pete you're right! Checking the installation guide it says it should be attached at one point between 20 and 40 inches above the floor. I installed this and missed that part. I'll try that and post results.
 
  #5  
Old 01-12-22, 05:56 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 143
Received 34 Upvotes on 31 Posts
It will likely still have a little water under that filter cup. Mine is installed correctly with the high loop.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: