Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Household Cleaning, Kitchen Appliance Service and Repairs > >Electric< Large Kitchen and Home Appliances
Reload this Page >

Samsung RF4287HARS - Not Dropping Ice / Test Works / Replacing Control Board

Samsung RF4287HARS - Not Dropping Ice / Test Works / Replacing Control Board


  #1  
Old 06-27-22, 07:54 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 124
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Samsung RF4287HARS - Not Dropping Ice / Test Works / Replacing Control Board

Hi all,

My Samsung fridge is around 9 years old and has been great for the most part. Recently it stopped making ice. Test mode works fine. I checked water pressure, which is fine. Changed the filter. Lastly, I replaced the ice maker itself. Still doing the same thing.
After a lot of additional research on the web, it seems the Control Boards on these units fail and replacing that is the last step. I have one on order.
However, the part that is stamped on the unit is DA41-00683A. I couldn't find that part easily online. I did find DA41-00684A, which seems to be the right part. The only visible difference I can see is that the SMPS inverter control board is built onto the control board instead of being a separate board? I assume this means when I swap out, I will just have some wire harnesses not hooked up.

Has anyone done this? I did find the 133 page service manual.

This is the board I ordered.

This is my existing board. Notice the left side of the board has no components.

This wire harness is attached from the bottom SMPS board, and this connector doesn't exist on the new board.

The bottom board is the SMPS inverter board, which I don't think I need with the new board.

Everything.

 
  #2  
Old 06-27-22, 10:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 63,113
Received 3,610 Upvotes on 3,236 Posts
Hmmmmm.... I don't work on many LG's or Samsungs. Very hard to keep up with the changes.

Good luck. I see some issues there. 120v to the new board is one.
 
  #3  
Old 06-28-22, 05:24 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 124
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Well the new board (and existing board) already get 120V since the board controls 120V to other parts of the fridge.
 
  #4  
Old 06-28-22, 12:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 63,113
Received 3,610 Upvotes on 3,236 Posts
Well....yeah.
But how do you actually connect the 120v incoming to the new board ?
I don't see an additional connector for 120v.

The old board(s) handled the 120v in and then split it up.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: